Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 37 of 37

    Sky introduces Sky Anytime+

    This is a discussion on Sky introduces Sky Anytime+ within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; It isn't just the archiving to DVDR that's an issue though, the software is so buggy. Example - just switching ...

    1. #31
      Faust's Avatar
      Faust is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      306
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky introduces Sky Anytime+

      It isn't just the archiving to DVDR that's an issue though, the software is so buggy. Example - just switching on the Sky box, nothing happens for a few seconds then the screen turns a lilac colour, a further few seconds of that and the screen turns a darker blue, then just as you think nothings going to happen the programme appears. However, it doesn't finish there as once you have your programme the EPG and planner are really slow to respond with loads of lag. Today and not for the first time a recorded programme simply froze, the Sky box would not respond to any commands and I ended up switching the box off at the plug. After waiting a couple of minutes I switch on and all is well again. My neighbour down the street is having exactly the same issues with his Sky HD box.

      All of these issues have only arisen since the software update.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      shear69's Avatar
      shear69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NELF
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: skyanytime+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Tyneside
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky introduces Sky Anytime+

      Well everyone with sky hd from what I read and I got a leaflet posted to me from sky saying I'm entitled to the new skyhd box which is 25% smaller and faster memory and more storage, turns out they are the new amstrad boxes as sky now own amstrad. I phoned friday 25th march and they sent engineer with new box today 28th, also able to keep my old box so can stick that on ebay if I want

    4. #33
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky introduces Sky Anytime+

      You can also keep it to use as a Multi-room box should you want to take this service up at a later date.

      Thank you for reporting back too. There has been some debate as to whether people would be able to retain their old Thomson STBs.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #34
      WorthingTiger's Avatar
      WorthingTiger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worthiing Swandean
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky introduces Sky Anytime+

      I've just tried signing up for Anytime+ online, but the ordering system keeps trying to bill me a one-off charge of 29.90.

      Has anyone else had this problem? Can I ring Sky and sign up for Anytime+ over the phone?

    6. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky introduces Sky Anytime+

      Quote Originally Posted by WorthingTiger View Post
      I've just tried signing up for Anytime+ online, but the ordering system keeps trying to bill me a one-off charge of 29.90.

      Has anyone else had this problem? Can I ring Sky and sign up for Anytime+ over the phone?
      Check what has been selected automatically.

      You may find that the system has included the cost of an engineer visit or something like that. From memory you will have to untick the box.

      Why do some people need an engineer? Connecting their Sky+ HD STB to their LAN.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #36
      Tycho's Avatar
      Tycho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky introduces Sky Anytime+

      This might sound like a daft question, but I assume you have to subscribe to Sky broadband for this and that I couldnt hook up my Sky+HD box to my Virgin Media router?

      Cheers

    8. #37
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky introduces Sky Anytime+

      Quote Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
      This might sound like a daft question, but I assume you have to subscribe to Sky broadband for this and that I couldnt hook up my Sky+HD box to my Virgin Media router?
      At the moment it is still only possible to receive Anytime+ when you have:

      1. a current Sky subscription
      2. a compatible Sky+ HD STB (the Thomson model is being replaced FOC for an Amstrad DRX890 because the techs can't get it to work on this model)
      3. Sky Broadband Home Lite or Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Anyone who subscribes to another ISP or does not have a Sky+ HD STB cannot receive Anytime+.

      However you can watch on-line content from Sky Go.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO