Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 17 of 24 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast
    Results 161 to 170 of 237

    Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

    This is a discussion on Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; It is possible the noise on your line has increased causing your speed to be set lower. To be honest ...

    1. #161
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,828
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      It is possible the noise on your line has increased causing your speed to be set lower. To be honest I am dreading being 'upgraded' as I am fairly sure DLM will drag my speed down. When it first ran and set my line my noise margin seldom dropped below 7 dbs. Now my margin drops right down to under 5 dbs, but the line does not drop and the speed is unaffected.
      System Up Time 317:23:21
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s
      Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1133369 1368194 0 286 1217 317:21:52
      LAN 10M/100M 1705481 1520647 0 1261 334 317:23:16
      WLAN 54M 124228 103950 0 50 11 317:23:07
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9214 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 40.0 db 23.2 db
      Noise Margin......... 4.8 db 18.5 db

      As you see I have been up for nearly 16 days, it would be more, but we had a power cut which knocked everything out.

      Speedtest
      We have detected that your ISP is Sky - Your current download speed is 7928Kbps, and your current upload speed is 505Kbps.
      I am pretty sure they will knock at least a Mb of me, maybe more.

      Sometimes I think Sky are a bit conservative with their default noise margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #162
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      That's where custom firmware allowing customisable noise margins comes in

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #163
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,828
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      If they cap the line it does not matter how much you lower the margin, you will get no more speed. I actually use CU3.03 firmware which allows that but I have never had to use it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #164
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      I've exceeded my 10 GB/month for the last two months and I've just received an email headed 'Your Sky Broadband has been automatically upgraded' with no message saying what or why.

    6. #165
      mickr's Avatar
      mickr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Verwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      177
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      If you exceed your 10gb limit twice they change you to unlimited .You will see from other posts that this is quite common

      Mickr

    7. #166
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,828
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      Quote Originally Posted by andymo View Post
      Are there any free upgrades for the limited version?
      That is a pretty useless query. If you want to contribute to the Forum, start a thread in the Everyday Life and introduce yourself. Don't make pointless comments in the various threads. I am sure many of our members would be interested to hear what life is in Kenya, what like your broadband is, what equipment you are using and things like that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #167
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      I was originally on the Max Package. Phoned to get the accounts swapped to unlimited. I received a letter stating line testing will begin and to keep my connection on for the next 10 days. DLM didn't and hasn't kicked in. I'm assuming they only run DLm for those upgrading from a lower package?

    9. #168
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,828
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      I'm assuming they only run DLm for those upgrading from a lower package?
      No, according to reports on the Forum, DLM is run whether you are already on the Unlimited product or not. Maybe they have had a second thoughts and realised it was a waste of time and just created problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #169
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If they cap the line it does not matter how much you lower the margin, you will get no more speed. I actually use CU3.03 firmware which allows that but I have never had to use it.
      But for DLM if you set the noise margin low in the router DLM then caps your speed at a stable level according to your noise margin and not sky's. Tried this out recently with an older router when they redid DLM following my 7.50 "regrade"

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    11. #170
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,828
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Launches New Up To 20Mb Broadband Product

      DLM then caps your speed at a stable level according to your noise margin and not sky's.
      I hope you are correct, I will try it when DLM comes on my line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 17 of 24 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO