Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 82 of 132 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast
    Results 811 to 820 of 1319
    Like Tree78Likes

    Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

    This is a discussion on Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by Stumpy I'm currently on a capped speed of 4Mb because any higher my connection becomes unstable. How ...

    1. #811
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Stumpy View Post
      I'm currently on a capped speed of 4Mb because any higher my connection becomes unstable. How will this be affected if I was on FTTC? I've been told the connection from the exchange to the cabinet is fine .. it is the copper between the cabinet to the house that is causing the problems.
      From a support angle, this is something that members on this site will need to learn about.

      In your case, if the short length of line between your home and the cabinet were found to be causing a problem, I would hope that it would definitely be an excuse to change the cable.

      Since the 'fault' would be within a shorter length of copper cable, it should be a lot simpler to locate and repair in future. Currently line faults can occur at any point from the exchange to the home. Internal wiring can also interfere badly with a connection too.

      Since a specific faceplate is fitted, hopefully internal wiring issues will become a thing of the past (except where burglar alarms are badly fitted of course).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #812
      MagicTorch's Avatar
      MagicTorch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      My exchange (including my PCP cabinet) is due for upgrade to FTTC in 2012 as part of Openreach phase 8b. I am hoping Sky will be offering FTTC by the time my exchange/cabinet is upgraded.

      If anyone is interested, I used the following link to trace my PCP cabinet details:-

      https://www.google.com/fusiontables/...id=S351604JNil

      Click on 'Options' to filter the data

      MODS - not sure if it is OK to post the link above? if not, please remove my post. Thanks

    4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to MagicTorch For This Useful Post:

      joe pineapples (21-01-12),Justinlang (22-01-12),speedyrite (22-01-12)

    5. #813
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      That is a very interesting document. If I am reading it correctly (searching the PO postcodes) Bognor's boxes appear to be often full, which is not what companies such as Sky has been suggesting.

      It isn't worth me searching my specif area as I still don't have Fibre

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #814
      MagicTorch's Avatar
      MagicTorch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      That is a very interesting document. If I am reading it correctly (searching the PO postcodes) Bognor's boxes appear to be often full, which is not what companies such as Sky has been suggesting.

      It isn't worth me searching my specif area as I still don't have Fibre
      I might be wrong, but I think the 'Percent Lines' column shows the percentage of properties within a specific postcode that would be able to get the FTTC service (homes too far from the cabinet would not get the service even if the cabinet is enabled?). The uplift column data represents the increase that FTTC will provide from non FTTC download speed. The SAU ID is the exchange ID (this can be found via postcode on the Samknows website). The SAU ID 'Node' is the cabinet number, e.g P1, P43 etc...some green cabinets have the Node numbers labelled on the front or side of the cabinet (the node number shown against my postcode is the same number printed on the side of the cabinet situated just round the corner from my house)
      Last edited by MagicTorch; 21-01-12 at 09:32 PM.

    7. #815
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick (NEILB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      52
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      ...
      The connection to the cabinet has to be far better than before, and so I would expect to see a higher speed, as there is less copper for it to degrade as such. I know you said it is from the box to your house that is the issue, but logically, the old way may have only being able to get say 5 meg at the box, in turn you then lose 1 meg to your house.
      In my case, the maximum I could get was around 5Mb - but they capped it at 4Mb because if they left it uncapped it ran at a faster speed but built up errors rather quickly, causing connection to drop very regularly.

      I'm just hoping that, if I do get FTTC, if it turns out that I can't benefit from it they will either do something about it, or simply let me go back to my old contract.

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      doh!

      I removed the other one, I will re edit your post to include it again.
      Hehe thank you ... the site glitched on me, and then when I tried to amend the second one for deletion, it refused me access .. perhaps you were doing the same thing at the same time

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      ...In your case, if the short length of line between your home and the cabinet were found to be causing a problem, I would hope that it would definitely be an excuse to change the cable.

      Since the 'fault' would be within a shorter length of copper cable, it should be a lot simpler to locate and repair in future. Currently line faults can occur at any point from the exchange to the home. Internal wiring can also interfere badly with a connection too.
      We can but hope .. saying that, in my case, after a dozen engineers, we managed to establish that (a) there was a "fault" on the entire bundle of cables into our street (b) BT wouldn't do anything about it because it was above their minimum required standards (c) their minimum required standard stated that you must just be able to hold a telephone conversation using it.

      The only chance I have is either if they change their minimum requirements, or if they decide to install fibre into the street as well. Or, or course, if a workman accidentally sticks a shovel through the whole lot (which one engineer did say to me!).

    8. #816
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Stumpy View Post
      ...if a workman accidentally sticks a shovel through the whole lot (which one engineer did say to me!).
      You mean to say that you didn't grease his palm?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #817
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick (NEILB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      52
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      You mean to say that you didn't grease his palm?
      hehe .. by that time, I was thinking of a completely different place to put a shovel!
      Scubbie likes this.

    10. #818
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      272
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      We are around 80 yards away from the street cabinet which is enabled for infinity,we just manage 4mbs with sky and just checked the estimate for bt infinity,and it says

      35.2mb down

      10.0mb up.

      would not mind half of that.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    11. #819
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      How about double that?

      BTO are looking to double the speeds from "up to" 40/10 to "up to" 80/20 (80Mb d/l, 20Mb u/l) in March or so.

      Perhaps we will have some better news soon. Ged has mentioned that Sky are now doing trials of FTTC, others have mentioned the increased capacity of Sky's backhaul, so hopefully they are getting closer to a launch date.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #820
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: tp link archer d7 + draytek vigor 130 modem
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,213
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      that would be a nice jump going from 40 meg to 80 meg hehe

     

     
    Page 82 of 132 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO