Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 60 of 132 FirstFirst ... 1050585960616270110 ... LastLast
    Results 591 to 600 of 1319
    Like Tree78Likes

    Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

    This is a discussion on Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; There does not seem to be any way of finding out which exchanges are being upgraded. It used to be ...

    1. #591
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      There does not seem to be any way of finding out which exchanges are being upgraded. It used to be on Samknows but for some reason it is not shown now. SamKnows - Sky / Easynet LLU

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #592
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: tp link archer d7 + draytek vigor 130 modem
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,213
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      yea theres no way to tell like. cant wait like sky also said there was two ways of it either upgrading all sky customers to cable i think or use wifi but both would require investment. now upgrading all lines would mean digging up the road etc.

    4. #593
      uno's Avatar
      uno
      uno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Does anybody know who Sky use for exchange backhaul I would imagine its BT openreach but wasnt sure if use Virgin as well. Also do they still use the Easynet core fibre as well since they sold them off

    5. #594
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think this is also interesting - thinkbroadband :: Sky has over 3.4 million broadband customers it shows that Sky have only 280,000 Connect customers, not the millions previously bandied about. Obviously someone has made a mistake and included the users who are not fully unbundled, but have Sky LLU broadband, in with the Connect customers. I did not think it was possible Sky actually had millions of Connect customers.
      280,000 seems a bit on the low side considering probably most of my working day is spent dealing with connect customers.

    6. #595
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,398
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 112 Times in 107 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      They use theyr own backhaul
      and they still own the easynet backhaul

      Quote Originally Posted by uno View Post
      Does anybody know who Sky use for exchange backhaul I would imagine its BT openreach but wasnt sure if use Virgin as well. Also do they still use the Easynet core fibre as well since they sold them off

    7. #596
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      They use theyr own backhaul
      and they still own the easynet backhaul

      Pretty much what I meant in my post. Sky have been doing all the building up of kit in the background, so they don't have to rely on BT etc

      Sooner or later they will have the network ready for fibre, and I would bet 20 it will be cheaper than VM or BT - Just to put the point across. If you invest, they will come.

      A bit like the Morrisons advert for Xmas.

      'If you build it, people will come'

      [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ojnDo7anK4]Morrisons Xmas advert 2011. - YouTube[/ame]

      I just hope Sky haven't forgotten the quiche.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #597
      Kona Owner's Avatar
      Kona Owner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT HomeHub4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      456
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      sky is also thinking of moving all sky customers away from bt altogether. meaning that if theres a line issue sky can sort it out without having to get bt to sort it
      They would still use BT Openreach just like what happens now.
      John
      View My Flickr


    9. #598
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by buddbuttocks View Post
      280,000 seems a bit on the low side considering probably most of my working day is spent dealing with connect customers.
      I think that just demonstrates what a crap service Connect is.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #599
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: tp link archer d7 + draytek vigor 130 modem
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,213
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Kona Owner View Post
      They would still use BT Openreach just like what happens now.
      yes true they are like that at the min going through bt but sky are wanting to change that.

    11. #600
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      A few ramblings.

      I'm not clear on how Sky are going to implement fibre.

      If I've understood correctly other FTTC providers resell BT product.
      All the traffic goes from the DSLAM back to the exchange via BT fibre and then back to wherever to be distributed to the various ISPs.

      The perceived wisdom is that Sky is trying to get away from using BT resources.
      Do they lay their own fibre from the exchange to the DSLAM or can their traffic be extracted at the exchange?

      I was talking to a couple of engineers installing a DSLAM in Ruislip recently.
      To make more space for the frame for the tie-lines the old cast iron case was replaced with a larger steel one but all the internals remained the same unaltered.

      There were approximately 800 lines in the cab and 200 lines in the DSLAM.
      Only lines on FTTC would be jumpered-out to the DSLAM via the tie-lines all other lines remained the same.

      If Sky want to use their own equipment does it mean they have to provide their own DSLAM and tie-lines because I can't see that happening?

      FTTP

      The Sky/Talktalk trial of 2800 homes on the South Harrow exchange is very limited.
      According to Samknows there are over 25,000 residential properties on LWSHAR.

      Now I'm only a Lite user but I've heard nothing from Sky inviting me to upgrade to FTTP.

      There must be just the same space problems in some exchanges for fibre as there are for LLU.

      The guys installing the local fibre (not the ones digging the holes but those in the pits connecting up the various bundles) couldn't tell me if the individual house fibres were mutlipexed together onto one fibre back to the exchange or if they all went back individually.

      Thoughts?

      Andy

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO