Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 17 of 132 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767117 ... LastLast
    Results 161 to 170 of 1319
    Like Tree78Likes

    Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

    This is a discussion on Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; I am wondering now if the Sagem 2504N is actually supposed to be the FTTC router I don't think so ...

    1. #161
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,832
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      I am wondering now if the Sagem 2504N is actually supposed to be the FTTC router
      I don't think so Scubbie, I think it is just a 2504 with an upgraded wireless chip. It will be interesting when someone opens one up and let us have a look

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #162
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I don't think so Scubbie, I think it is just a 2504 with an upgraded wireless chip. It will be interesting when someone opens one up and let us have a look
      No problem. I was just wondering & vocalising my thought.

      As for seeing the actual router, it would definitely be nice to see one & have it working.

      Everyone seems to still be using the 2304n which is causing no end of issues.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #163
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      There already is a high demand for the product. Several member of this forum have already upgraded to FTTC with BT.
      Depends what Sky class as high demand. The kind of internet users that visit forums such as these are probably a small minority of the masses of Sky broadband customers who just want to go on facebook etc and don't really care how fast their connection is.

    5. #164
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Sky and TT are running a joint 3600 home trial of FTTP in NW London.

      So I geuss that they will be waiting for that data to come back before moving onto the next phase of their deciding.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #165
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: tp link archer d7 + draytek vigor 130 modem
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,213
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      i guess all we have to do is be patient maybe sky is waiting for bt to upgrade as many exchanges as possible then maybe they will do something

    7. #166
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      486
      Thanks
      68
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      "Openreach announce 156 new FTTC locations to be enabled"

      Yay, my exchange is on the list,....but does this actually mean anything with regards to sky?.

    8. #167
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by joe pineapples View Post
      "Openreach announce 156 new FTTC locations to be enabled"

      Yay, my exchange is on the list,....but does this actually mean anything with regards to sky?.
      Hopefully by the time your exchange has FTTC installed, Sky will have launched their FTTC product range.

      Reading further through the article on thinkbroadband, I noticed that BT are now making it know that they are not implementing a 100% coverage for areas that are FTTC enabled. This is something that has already been picked up on this forum.

      thinkbroadband :: Openreach announce 156 new FTTC locations to be enabled

      thinkbroadband :: Only 40% of cabinets may get enabled in a BT fibre broadband area

      Readers are reminded that coverage of an exchange once enabled for FTTC is not 100%, but averages about 85%, although in some cases has been as low as 40%.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #168
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick (NEILB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      52
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      So, if I'm reading that right, I will only be able to get FTTC with Sky :

      * If my exchange has to be enabled (originally down as March on the lists, now September)
      * If my specific cabinet has to been enabled
      * If Sky is providing it in my area.

      And for me, I have a final problem, which is that, even if all the other conditions are fulfilled, there is no guarantee that the copper from the cabinet to the house is capable of taking a higher speed.

    10. #169
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Stumpy View Post
      So, if I'm reading that right, I will only be able to get FTTC with Sky :

      * If my exchange has to be enabled (originally down as March on the lists, now September) YES
      * If my specific cabinet has to been enabled Specifically a new green street cabinet and one that covers your home as the equipment needs to be in a new cabinet. One cabinet could cover a larger postal area than the existing cabinets
      * If Sky is providing it in my area. This will depend on the FTTC product range that Sky offers

      And for me, I have a final problem, which is that, even if all the other conditions are fulfilled, there is no guarantee that the copper from the cabinet to the house is capable of taking a higher speed.
      Answers in Bold & Red.

      As for your own wiring, this would be down to BT Openreach to upgrade as required. If your FTTC connection was unstable due to the wiring, then I guess they would have to change it all.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Stumpy (10-04-11)

    12. #170
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick (NEILB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      52
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Ah, I didn't realise they would be putting in new cabinets - suppose that makes sense :P I live on a very large housing estate that is currently at maximum capacity at the exchange - I don't know how fibre will affect this.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      As for your own wiring, this would be down to BT Openreach to upgrade as required. If your FTTC connection was unstable due to the wiring, then I guess they would have to change it all.
      Openreach have already confirmed the wiring between the cabinet and the house is degrading (not unstable at the moment, although capped at 4Mb to avoid instability) - and have also stated very firmly that BT do not replace wiring unless it simply cannot carry a connection at all.

      I'll just have to wait and see, but I do hope that, if I get to that stage, I can "go back" to the current broadband I have, if it turns out FTTC is of very little benefit to me once installed. Of course, it's is also dependant on whether or not we can afford it

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO