Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 110 of 132 FirstFirst ... 1060100108109110111112120 ... LastLast
    Results 1,091 to 1,100 of 1319
    Like Tree78Likes

    Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

    This is a discussion on Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by Scubbie I was under that impression too, but the statement makes no mention of the Connect package: ...

    1. #1091
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL2+ ~6Mb
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ & mini box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,271
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I was under that impression too, but the statement makes no mention of the Connect package:
      Lots of Connect customers have it in their packages already so this is probably just an oversight. Connect isn't really promoted - it's like a dirty little secret.
      jayhab likes this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #1092
      146Kg's Avatar
      146Kg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router:
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      129
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Stumpy View Post

      There is a power socket, but it is a single one, directly opposite the front door and is used regularly for those boring jobs like plugging in the hoover or iron.

      If we have to position a modem and/or router near to the master socket, it will require some major thought and paying an electrician/plasterer, together with repainting, etc. And I really HATE decorating
      You can get face plates to convert single socket outlets to double or triple socket outlets. No electrician is required as you are not altering the wiring and no decorating either.
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to 146Kg For This Useful Post:

      Stumpy (01-02-12)

    5. #1093
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick (NEILB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      52
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by 146Kg View Post
      You can get face plates to convert single socket outlets to double or triple socket outlets. No electrician is required as you are not altering the wiring and no decorating either.
      The nub of it is tho ... the "room" is very small ... no-where to stash one or two bits of equipment without them causing a hazard - I'd need to convert the single socket to a triple in order to still have a spare one for normal household use, but there isn't enough wall space to fit one.

      Even if there was, having two power supply units sticking out of the wall socket permanently on the main walkway of the house isn't very satisfactory - they'd get knocked constantly by kids with toys, by adults carting shopping through, etc.

      It sounds like my best options would either be to get the master socket moved, or look into the additional data cable kit thing.

    6. #1094
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick (NEILB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      52
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      *giggles* I just checked the Sky website and tried out their "line checker" .. just to see if they had incorporated the fibre option into the speeds, and I got the following result:

      Your current phone line is not compatible with Sky Broadband and Talk. To take Sky Broadband and Talk, please use our address checker to see if you can also order a compatible Sky Talk phone line.
      Strange that, as I'm already using them! It's obviously just using BT's own system to check (not a BT landline, therefore not compatible!)

    7. #1095
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: SKY SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      564
      Thanks
      67
      Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Lol I did the same and got the same yesterday
      Stumpy likes this.

    8. #1096
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by bubblegun View Post
      . Connect isn't really promoted - it's like a dirty little secret.
      Haha, yes. Nicely put. Just out of interest how much does it cost these days - used to be 17 when I was on it prior to upgrade of my exchange. I remember thinking all my Christmases had come at once when my speed went up from 2 to 8 mbps and my bill went down to 10, later to be reduced even further to the current 7.50!

      I wonder how long it will be now before the fibre product gets reduced. I know my speed is at present only average for the Sky network but so long as I can play 720p streams through my XBMC setup without glitches and get Anytime+ HD downloads to start in 30 seconds or so I am happy and can't really justify the 12.50 extra. However, once that extra gets down to 10 or less I will be jumping straight on board .

    9. #1097
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,835
      Thanks
      763
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      For those of you who haven't yet noticed, Ged has added a new section to the forum:

      Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help

      There are quite a few of you already visiting it today, so I am sure it will only be a minority who haven't seen it.
      Stumpy likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #1098
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: tp link archer d7 + draytek vigor 130 modem
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,213
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      yep got it heh cant wait for fttc like I am all excited hehe.

    11. #1099
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      i cant wait for sky to get a proper page up on their site actually advertising the product and clearing up all the fine details, things like if line rental is req to get it, if we need another router or it works ok with current sky N router and confirming if it is just 2mb upload or if their will be speed increases to come etc...

    12. #1100
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: tp link archer d7 + draytek vigor 130 modem
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,213
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      yea that would be awesome like at the min my mother pays 94 95 a month for broadband TV and line rental and phone but taking the broadband up from 7.50 will almost take it to 120 quid a month mark.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO