Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 108 of 132 FirstFirst ... 85898106107108109110118 ... LastLast
    Results 1,071 to 1,080 of 1319
    Like Tree78Likes

    Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

    This is a discussion on Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by Moxey personally i cant see any reason not to change the pnone line rental over to sky ...

    1. #1071
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Moxey View Post
      personally i cant see any reason not to change the pnone line rental over to sky if not done so already, unless you pay BT line rental for 1yr up front @ 120/12 months then sky is cheaper @ 12.25/month instead of BT's 14.60/month, sky's anytime call plan is only 5/month compared to BT's 4.90/month or eve&weekends is free on sky but 3.15/month on BT and you get to pay it all on 1 convenient bill, its a no brainer


      best place to check exchange dates is here Openreach - Superfast fibre broadband - Where and when
      you can use the interactive map or check out the 3 links at bottom of that page for exchanegs already taking orders, exchanges coming soon (within next 12 months) and exchanges for future planning

      yea thanks for that it says march 2012 on there also


    2. Advertisement
    3. #1072
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Finally some action..

      Quite pleased that Sky have finally decided to go public with this and put us all out of our miseries.

      A bit disappointed with the 2MB upload speed. I know it must have been hard for Sky as they want to keep their truly unlimited 'bragging rights' and it would have been harder to do so on a 10MB upstream product.

    4. #1073
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      any confirmation of the upstream yet?
      im not interested in the downstream at all
      22mbit is just fine 99% of the time
      the 1216 upstream is a limiting factor though

      I cant see me going to vdsl2 for a jump to 2mbit
      but 10 or 20 i would
      It's 2MB.

      I don't intend to change too till a better upstream rate is offered.

    5. #1074
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,398
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 112 Times in 107 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      My exchange isnt in the current plans for FTTC upgrades anyway
      even though i live in a large city

      I suppose its better for me that they are keeping people at 2meg upstream
      as the network wont be under as much load

      at the moment I get 0 jitter 24/7
      take a look at virgin's network the jitter is crazy as its so overloaded at peak times

    6. #1075
      Dazza115's Avatar
      Dazza115 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showp...9&postcount=49

      Hmm, if those numbers are correct then its FAR closer an argument than I ever imagined. On the face of it the 20 per month is nice and the consumer taking a hit on installation is ok over a long term.

      The problem comes with the extra caveats that are call packages and line rental. The phones in this house are rarely used for anything but incoming calls so wasting money on call packages is hard to stomach.

      Would be nice if someone could break down and confirm the requirements.

    7. #1076
      bulldog147's Avatar
      bulldog147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cuckoo Oak
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 1 x Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      I had checked this site: Openreach - Superfast fibre broadband - Where and when

      Exchange Name: CUCKOO OAK
      Status: Not currently in rollout plans

      Does this mean my exchange won't be getting FTTC in future ?

    8. #1077
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      I would not suggest that Sky Fibre is 'locked' to Sky TV customers only.

      I would however point out that the fee of 20 per month is what would be offered to Sky TV customers. The wording leaves room for Sky to charge a different fee for anyone else.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #1078
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      my only worry now is, like a couple others said on here, my master socket is next to the front door in the hallway with no power sockets at all and nowhere to fit the OR Modem, an unfiltered extension wire runs from the adsl faceplate down the hall ceiling thru the kitchen and into the backroom where my router sits on my pc desk, the router also then feeds an ethernet cable up thru the bedrooms and back down into the front room to a 5 port switch, as this is a worry i have been doing alot of reading up on the bt infinity install procedure.

      Acording to the bt info, the OR Modem can not be plugged into a telephone extention socket as normal phone extention wiring can not cope with the increased speeds of fiber broadband and so it needs to be plugged into the master socket, however there is mention of a data extension kit which is a special cable about the thickness of a pencil and upto 30m long which can be run from the master socket to wherever you would like the OR Modem and says this need should be stated at time of order.

      It goes on to say the openreach installer will tack the cable to the top of skirting and around door frames but can not run it under carpets and if it needs to be run behind furniture this must be moved beforehand, exactly how acomodating the openreach engineer would be about drilling holes thru walls etc to run the cable to exactly where youd like the OR Modem is yet to be seen tho.

      If anyone on here that has already gone onto BT Infinity could share their experiances of this stuff then that would be great but for now ive got alot of thinking to do about exactly where i want stuff situated and how to wire everything up.

    10. #1079
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by bulldog147 View Post
      I had checked this site: Openreach - Superfast fibre broadband - Where and when

      Exchange Name: CUCKOO OAK
      Status: Not currently in rollout plans

      Does this mean my exchange won't be getting FTTC in future ?
      mines is accepting orders for bt on that checker, but when i go to bt checker it says it aint avaiable, strange

    11. #1080
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky will be looking to run trials of fibre-optic broadband

      you have to remember that when an exchange is accepting orders that does not mean every cab on that exchange has been fitted up for fiber and you can only get it if/when your local green cab pops up and gets fibered to the exchange
      this is what you need to be looking out for
      Requesting Cabinet Information - Page 2 - BTCare Community Forums
      allso check the PCP list to see if it says your cab is planned in the roll out
      https://www.google.com/fusiontables/...id=S351604JNil

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Moxey For This Useful Post:

      Stumpy (31-01-12)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO