Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 80

    Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

    This is a discussion on Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD? within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; then you cannot argue or a different box, you will have to pay another 30 quid and postage back...

    1. #11
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      then you cannot argue or a different box, you will have to pay another 30 quid and postage back


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      simonc0801's Avatar
      simonc0801 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton
      Broadband ISP: o2 - Standard accesss
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      Self install option seems to be live as I've just done it today with delivery date of next Wednesday. Have issue with failed recording all the time (fault code 11) full resets etc etc. Phoned sky technical faults as said possible HDD (it is 2-3years old and well used) he said they do self install for 30 + 49 for the box.Passed me to on dept to who just confirmed price, passed me to another who tok order (upfornt cost doesn't go on monthly direct debit so be aware) said would be delivery next Wednesday just need to move cable across and follow instructions. - Right we'll see what happens and I'll post back on here.
      30 for delivery yes it's a bit steep but not as bad as 60 for engineer to do the same thing as I will.
      Lots of people having error 11 failed recordings - ploy to get you to upgrade

    4. #13
      Captain W's Avatar
      Captain W is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky BB Unlimited 14.2Mb
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      Quote Originally Posted by simonc0801 View Post
      Self install option seems to be live as I've just done it today with delivery date of next Wednesday. Have issue with failed recording all the time (fault code 11) full resets etc etc. Phoned sky technical faults as said possible HDD (it is 2-3years old and well used) he said they do self install for 30 + 49 for the box.Passed me to on dept to who just confirmed price, passed me to another who tok order (upfornt cost doesn't go on monthly direct debit so be aware) said would be delivery next Wednesday just need to move cable across and follow instructions. - Right we'll see what happens and I'll post back on here.
      30 for delivery yes it's a bit steep but not as bad as 60 for engineer to do the same thing as I will.
      Lots of people having error 11 failed recordings - ploy to get you to upgrade
      ... and it's a brand new box compared to the 65 for a service call with potentially more HDD space (that's if a PVR5 arrives). I wonder if this is what they are going to start promoting rather than a service call? Clearly, it might be your dish or LNB or cabling at fault but I reckon the price is good if it covers a full 12month warranty - anyone know if this is the case?

    5. #14
      RST's Avatar
      RST
      RST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      Remember the offer price (49) is only for your first HD box and this will come with a 12 month warranty. If you have a faulty HD box, it will be far cheaper with a service call than buy a new box.

    6. #15
      chrisbez's Avatar
      chrisbez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle under Lyme
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      Quote Originally Posted by simonc0801 View Post
      Self install option seems to be live as I've just done it today with delivery date of next Wednesday.
      I am very tempted to use this option to upgrade my Sky+ box.

      Would you let us all know what type of box you get - the new larger capacity box, or an older, perhaps refurbished one?
      Thanks!

      Chris B.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 15-01-10 at 10:40 PM. Reason: Fixed quote tags ;)

    7. #16
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      Do you also have to take out the HD subscriptions?

    8. #17
      RST's Avatar
      RST
      RST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      It's the new boxes from 12th January which ties you into a 12 month subscription to HD subscription.

    9. #18
      reech's Avatar
      reech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      Is the HD subscription still 10 a month?

      I've got a TiVo at the moment, love it, but when I get me new HD TV, I'll be ready to shift it, sadly. I think a Sky+HD box will be good - although I only have the one feed (communal flat, no extra lead for the next year or so.) The new boxes allow single feed mode, don't they? Or is it only one particular type of box that allows that?
      ---reech---

    10. #19
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      all sky+hd boxes can be used in a flat now

    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky To Allow Self Install on Sky+HD?

      Quote Originally Posted by skypaulusplus View Post
      all sky+hd boxes can be used in a flat now
      But not with the full function of the PVR facility if only on one cable.

     

     
    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO