Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 14 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 136

    Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Usage On MySky? within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by nheather Since I found out that my Sky Mid was being DOWNGRADED to Everyday I have tried ...

    1. #31
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,182
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      Quote Originally Posted by nheather View Post
      Since I found out that my Sky Mid was being DOWNGRADED to Everyday I have tried voluntarily to upgrade to Unlimited because even without the usage monitor I know I exceed 10GB some months.
      In other words you have got the green light to carry on as you are because they are unable to upgrade you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Chug a Bug's Avatar
      Chug a Bug is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      south coast
      Posts
      369
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      I honestly have no idea how much I use in a month, it's going to be interesting to find out. I'm certainly not going to manually upgrade to Max/Unlimited. Let Sky do it, if they can!

      The only thing that worries me is I've heard a story on the thinkbroadband.com forums where a guy wanted to upgrade to Max. Sky CS told him there were no Max positions left in his exchange they'd all been taken. But in the meantime his Mid allocation had been given to someone else, so they couldn't even keep him on that! They could only offer him Connect!!!

      I think in that case it would be bye bye Sky and hello Talk Talk for me (no 02 here unfortunately. )

      N.B. actually I might switch to Talk Talk anyway if they wanted to put me on Max, it's only 6.41 a month and 40gb, and thats plenty enough for me. Not sure if I'm tied to another 12 month contract with Sky after the Mid/Everyday 10gb rollout though.

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,821
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,620 Times in 1,582 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      The only thing that worries me is I've heard a story on the thinkbroadband.com forums where a guy wanted to upgrade to Max. Sky CS told him there were no Max positions left in his exchange they'd all been taken.
      That's a bit strange, the Base, Mid and Max connections are all the same. Only the first two are capped and the last isn't. If a user were already on Mid it is hard to see how they would be moved to Connect as they had lost their place through asking for an upgrade. An 'urban legend' methinks or someone who had completely misunderstood the situation..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      In other words you have got the green light to carry on as you are because they are unable to upgrade you.
      Correct, except that I will get snotty letters telling me that I have used more than my allowance, telling me what a bad boy I am and that if I continue to do it they will upgrade me.

      Cheers,

      Nigel

    6. #35
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,182
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      Quote Originally Posted by nheather View Post
      and that if I continue to do it they will upgrade me.
      Then let them do it, as you say they can't upgrade you. If they manage to fix whatever the issue is then they will automatically upgrade you.

    7. #36
      Mr Spouse's Avatar
      Mr Spouse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Somewhere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      Quote Originally Posted by mickr View Post
      \I challenge you to prove to me how I as a mid customer am going to see any improvement in my broadband package, when in fact the opposite is true. What is going to be your next ploy I wonder? Try to get customers to switch their phone line to sky or maybe unlimited will become limited. Sky sign people up with these deals and then change the goal posts. Hardly fair I think.
      It's called business. Something Sky are very good at. They won't care if you leave, because you're not a typical customer to them.

      I switched to Sky because I wanted a better broadband service than my previous provider. I opted for unlimited over mid to avoid the type of situation you are now in. You're complaining about having to pay 5 a month extra for unlimited broadband. Except for O2, who else has an equivalent deal that is reliable?

      It wouldn't surprise me at all if Sky did cap unlimited one day. When that happens I will weigh up the alternatives and make my choice. I've done that already by opting out of the Sky LLU network and will be going back to BT when my Sky Talk contract ends, because the call charges are getting ridiculous.

      You pays your money (or not) and takes your choice, I'm afraid.

    8. #37
      mickr's Avatar
      mickr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Verwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      177
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      They do not answer your letters, so I am shaw they dont care if you leave. The truth is they do not give a toss, all they are interested in is signing up more customers. I also have retained my bt line.Its not so much the extra 5.00 to switch to unlimited but there attitude that ****** me off

      Mickr

    9. #38
      gareth86's Avatar
      gareth86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      "Don't worry, your usage is not being monitored yet. "

      Haha, laughed when I saw that. Even they know it's a bad thing.

    10. #39
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      Well I for one am looking foward to the new usage tool itself. It'll be interesting to see how much we use in one month.

      Does anyone else like the new design on the 'My Sky' section?

    11. #40
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      474
      Thanks
      45
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Usage On MySky?

      SKy usage tool now in operation for my account - 0.1gb is currently recorded against me.

     

     
    Page 4 of 14 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO