Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 24 of 37 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast
    Results 231 to 240 of 362

    Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds? within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Terminal 4 is not used in domestic setups, so the wire is redundant. You would normally have a blue/white and ...

    1. #231
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,833
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,584 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Terminal 4 is not used in domestic setups, so the wire is redundant. You would normally have a blue/white and a white/blue connected to terminals 2 and 5 and the orange(ring) wire connected to terminal 3. If you have I would remove the white/orange wire from terminal 5 and just tuck it out of the way. It is OK to have the orange wire connected to terminal 3 as the faceplate is fitted with a 'ring' filter. If you do not have modern phones you might need it, as you will not now be using the plug in filters which did the work of the ring wire. If you have modern phones, just tuck it out of the way.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #232
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Terminal 4 is not used in domestic setups, so the wire is redundant. You would normally have a blue/white and a white/blue connected to terminals 2 and 5 and the orange(ring) wire connected to terminal 3. If you have I would remove the white/orange wire from terminal 5 and just tuck it out of the way. It is OK to have the orange wire connected to terminal 3 as the faceplate is fitted with a 'ring' filter. If you do not have modern phones you might need it, as you will not now be using the plug in filters which did the work of the ring wire. If you have modern phones, just tuck it out of the way.
      So you're saying the phone won't ring if I have that wire connected? :S

      -------Edit-------

      Phone is working fine, it also rings. :P

      So can I just leave the wire in? I kind-of have a "thing". I tend not to muck about with stuff that's working fine. :P

    4. #233
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,833
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,584 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      You must have a reasonably modern phone. Only the old, mainly 'wind up' type need the ring wire. I don't think it will do any harm being connected to T5, but it may. Brian the phone guru will maybe pop in and advise. In the mean time, 'if it aint broke don't fix it'

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #234
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You must have a reasonably modern phone. Only the old, mainly 'wind up' type need the ring wire. I don't think it will do any harm being connected to T5, but it may. Brian the phone guru will maybe pop in and advise. In the mean time, 'if it aint broke don't fix it'
      Thanks fella.

      You've been a massive help, I really appreciate it!

    6. #235
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      any news as to when the faster speeds are gonna be available?

    7. #236
      jamesbissett's Avatar
      jamesbissett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kilwinning
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by iangilf View Post
      any news as to when the faster speeds are gonna be available?
      Do not know but today I got 13 mb but had not logged in but got 12863.80 Kbps once logged on on think broadband speed test highest ever before 11171.01 Kbps last december usually in 8's

      my status
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 18 db

      so has anything changed ?

    8. #237
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      no, you're currently in sync at the fastest Sky currently offer...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #238
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,833
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,584 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
      What about post #170, where a sync of over 19Mb is reported?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #239
      __V__'s Avatar
      __V__ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      i dont no if this is any consilation, but for about 2 weeks now im starting to sync at like 2mb higher than previously
      Before it was about 11-12mb, now its 13-15mb

    11. #240
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      v what are ur current stats

     

     
    Page 24 of 37 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO