Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 23 of 37 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast
    Results 221 to 230 of 362

    Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds? within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; I don't think so. The test socket is the best connection you can have, can you just leave it in ...

    1. #221
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      I don't think so.

      The test socket is the best connection you can have, can you just leave it in there with the filter plugged in to allow a phone connection?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #222
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      I don't think so.

      The test socket is the best connection you can have, can you just leave it in there with the filter plugged in to allow a phone connection?
      Isn't the filter in the new faceplate better than the standard filters supplied with the Sky router?

    4. #223
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      No not really. its just that it isolates the rest of the wiring when you have extension sockets, The plug in filters don't do that. If you don't have extensions then there is no need other than it looks neater.

    5. #224
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      No not really. its just that it isolates the rest of the wiring when you have extension sockets, The plug in filters don't do that. If you don't have extensions then there is no need other than it looks neater.
      We have one extension socket. Not in use by any device though.

      So you're saying I've just brought this faceplate for no reason?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      ^^^^^^^^^^
      @Liam
      Fitting a filtered faceplate would definately help your connection.
      Whether it would help your drop outs is another question, if you run from the Test socket for a while and you don't get drops, then it definitely will. For anyone with extension sockets a filtered faceplate is about the best investment you can make.
      He seems to think otherwise. :S

    6. #225
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,833
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,584 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      It does not matter if the extension is in use or not, it is the wiring which mainly causes the problems. If you do not use the other socket and are sure you are not going to use it in the future, then disconnecting it from the master socket faceplate would give you much the same result as the Test socket. The whole idea of a filtered faceplate is to isolate your extensions, if you don't have any to isolate, then you don't really need one.

      You can pick up an IDC tool for a few pence, (79p in my local store), at B&Q, Homebase etc, anywhere that stocks telephone bits and pieces. They are not very well made but will do quite a few joints. I have used the corner of a credit card when I have been stuck. Don't try to use a screw driver, no matter how thin, the connectors will be damaged and will not make proper contact.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #226
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The whole idea of a filtered faceplate is to isolate your extensions, if you don't have any to isolate, then you don't really need one.
      I believe we shall be using the secondary socket soon as we may purchase a twin phone set.

      So even if the phone isn't plugged into the extension socket, it still affects the broadband?

    8. #227
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Yes, it does, the cables act line aerials and can introduce noise into the setup.

      That is why if you have extensions a filtered faceplate is best, it isoleates the ADSL at the very start before any other things can interfere.

    9. #228
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Yes, it does, the cables act line aerials and can introduce noise into the setup.

      That is why if you have extensions a filtered faceplate is best, it isoleates the ADSL at the very start before any other things can interfere.
      So it'll give the same speed as being plugged into the test socket?

    10. #229
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,366
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by LiamMc03 View Post
      So it'll give the same speed as being plugged into the test socket?
      It should give as close to the test socket result as possible.
      Connected at 17Mbps on sky unlimited


      Test Socket - TCPOptimiser - Kana Form

    11. #230
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      It arrived today, just finished fitting it.

      The white wire with orange highlights was running into terminal four on the old faceplate. There was no terminal four on the ADSL Nation faceplate, so I slipped it into terminal five. All other wires slotted into their according places.

      These are the results!

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15652 kbps 760 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 15 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 17 db

      This is a speedtest.net result while running my laptop on its battery.


     

     
    Page 23 of 37 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO