Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 19 of 37 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast
    Results 181 to 190 of 362

    Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds? within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Okay, I have done as you said. Now I just have to play the waiting game. I plugged it all ...

    1. #181
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Okay, I have done as you said. Now I just have to play the waiting game. I plugged it all in first of all, but needed to unplug the router to add an extension plug for the phone. The first download speed I was receiving was 16217 Kbps.

      The results now:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15370 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 15 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 5 db
      Speed from my attic room using my laptops Wifi.



      You've been a great help mate so far, thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #182
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      but needed to unplug the router to add an extension plug
      Just to be clear, the filter must be plugged into the Test socket first, then any extensions plugged into it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #183
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Just to be clear, the filter must be plugged into the Test socket first, then any extensions plugged into it.
      Yeah, I meant the plug for the routers power. :P
      There's only one plug socket so needed to add an extension lead.

      Sorry I should have really put that better.

    5. #184
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by LiamMc03 View Post
      Okay, I have done as you said. Now I just have to play the waiting game. I plugged it all in first of all, but needed to unplug the router to add an extension plug for the phone. The first download speed I was receiving was 16217 Kbps.

      The results now:



      Speed from my attic room using my laptops Wifi.



      You've been a great help mate so far, thanks.
      hmm, I have the exact same attenuation and noise margin, but I only sync at 14mbit

    6. #185
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      @LooieENG
      Did you get the filter problem sorted and did you try the Test socket as you were advised?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #186
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      heres my new stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14287 kbps 921 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5 db 17.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 12.0 db

      i was getting full 16 mbit but not anymore also when i do dmt tool trick it wont let me get to 16 mbit now , why is this anyone know?
      can i phone sky up and get my downstream sync sorted ?
      also is it only going to be a nearlly 1 mbit upload?
      Last edited by iangilf; 05-05-09 at 04:04 PM. Reason: didnt finish

    8. #187
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      There is a good chance that you are capped. You are syncing pretty high for your attenuation as it is, forcing a higher sync will only cause you more problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #188
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      grrrr why dont they just leave things alone it was alright without any problems they always fiddle im on an all copper line and my attainable rate is 20mbit which i used to have with ukonline i noticed my interleave depth/ delays are set at 128 now instead of 64/8

      i dont have any problems not until now again
      Last edited by iangilf; 05-05-09 at 04:54 PM. Reason: added more

    10. #189
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by iangilf View Post
      heres my new stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14287 kbps 921 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5 db 17.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 12.0 db

      i was getting full 16 mbit but not anymore also when i do dmt tool trick it wont let me get to 16 mbit now , why is this anyone know?
      can i phone sky up and get my downstream sync sorted ?
      also is it only going to be a nearlly 1 mbit upload?
      you really missing the extra 1000kbps?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #190
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      if ive been put onto the faster speeds then yes im missing more speed than that
      more like 6 mbit as im capable of getting 20mbit like i said

     

     
    Page 19 of 37 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO