Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 14 of 37 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast
    Results 131 to 140 of 362

    Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds? within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; I dont really know what technology they use but it isnt as good as it can be. When I first ...

    1. #131
      Lajos's Avatar
      Lajos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      I dont really know what technology they use but it isnt as good as it can be.

      When I first joined to Sky broadbend I had a constant download speed of ~640kb/s. (sync 6144kbps) Some helpful people in the forum said that i can get about 7-8Mb. I called Sky and they told me I cant get more.( I said right.) After the DLM has started my speed went to~9Mb but it wasnt stable. A called Sky again and Im asked them to set back to 6Mb. What they set to me?
      This:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44 db 25 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 12 db

      I already contacted Sky (one more time)but they told me that the exchange is not able to give me more than my current sync speed.

      Thats why Im not believe this speed incrase.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #132
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      You can get much more than you have at the moment, ring them again after 10:30pm and ask to speak to CST, you may have to do a few checks first.

      You should be getting between 7-8mb so nearly double what you have now.

      Don't be fobbed off, insist that once you have done the checks that they ask for you speak to CST.

    4. #133
      sloany1979's Avatar
      sloany1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01292
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max @ 19meg down 1.1meg up
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Ayr
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Any Idea what sort of speed I should be getting?
      Connection Speed Downstream 5024 kbps upstream 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation Down 39 db up 21 db
      Noise Margin Down 7 db Up 11db

      I was with bt business broadband before and was getting faster speeds.

      Thank you

    5. #134
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,366
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by sloany1979 View Post
      Any Idea what sort of speed I should be getting?
      Connection Speed Downstream 5024 kbps upstream 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation Down 39 db up 21 db
      Noise Margin Down 7 db Up 11db

      I was with bt business broadband before and was getting faster speeds.

      Thank you
      Can you post your stats from the test socket, if not done so already and go from there.
      Connected at 17Mbps on sky unlimited


      Test Socket - TCPOptimiser - Kana Form

    6. #135
      sloany1979's Avatar
      sloany1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01292
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max @ 19meg down 1.1meg up
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Ayr
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      My house doesn`t have a test socket. I traced the phone lines up too the loft where the phone sockets are wired directly into a almost oval shaped box a couple of inches long.

    7. #136
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,828
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      the phone sockets are wired directly into a almost oval shaped box a couple of inches long.
      This is your main problem. Your wiring must have been done by a DIYer, BT would not do this. You should call BT and ask them to check your wiring as you cannot find a Master socket. There should only be one wire coming out of the oval box, which should be connected to a Master socket, which in turn supplies your other extensions. It looks like your wiring has not been upgraded for 20-30 years, unfortunately BTO may want payment for sorting it out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #137
      sloany1979's Avatar
      sloany1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01292
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max @ 19meg down 1.1meg up
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Ayr
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      I am moving house in a couple of months so no point paying to fix the problem. Thank you for you're answers.

    9. #138
      madshaun1984's Avatar
      madshaun1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kidbrooke
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Hi I have been reading through this thread very closely, and cant work out if I should be getting a better sync rate, I have phoned sky several times in the past, as I believed this was wrong, just to be told that its a good speed for my line? I have checked how far I am from the exchange and that doesnt look to be the problem,

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 23391370 15398407 0 113409 3132 85:05:04
      LAN 15381643 23422208 0 4992 0 85:06:03
      WLAN 36075 13177 0 0 0 85:05:38
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12287 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.0 db 8.3 db
      Noise Margin 15.4 db 17.0 db

      could someone let me know if these stats look good, as I will contact sky again, if I should be getting more, on sky's side though, I havent had one disconnect since I joined about 3 years ago, and thats even with the old netgear router going wrong, I now have the sagem and the stats are the same, on both,

      MadS,

      Edit:- oh and I'm permanently plugged into the test socket, as my master socket front plate was giving speeds @ about 400kbps download

    10. #139
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,828
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      You should be getting a better speed. Your line is quite heavily capped which probably accounts for its stability. Your line has the potential to sync at over 16Mbps, you should phone Sky and ask them if they can lift the cap on your speed as you believe you can get more. Tier 1 will no doubt look at the 'avail' estimate for your line, which is based on outdated information, and tell you you are getting as much as you can. Disagree politely and asked to be passed to CST.

      ADSL2+ Speed Test - 18 attenuation/15.4NM


      We estimate your line is capable of between 16mb to 24mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #140
      madshaun1984's Avatar
      madshaun1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kidbrooke
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Max - New Faster Speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should be getting a better speed. Your line is quite heavily capped which probably accounts for its stability. Your line has the potential to sync at over 16Mbps, you should phone Sky and ask them if they can lift the cap on your speed as you believe you can get more. Tier 1 will no doubt look at the 'avail' estimate for your line, which is based on outdated information, and tell you you are getting as much as you can. Disagree politely and asked to be passed to CST.
      Thanks for the reply, I have been trying to phone sky, and am getting cut off in the automated options, they seem to be having major technical problems at the mo with they're phone lines, I'll try again, in a bit, and will post to update on what happens,

      MadS,

     

     
    Page 14 of 37 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO