Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Have you self upgraded yet?

    Voters
    155. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      110 70.97%
    • No

      29 18.71%
    • Will wait for rollout

      9 5.81%
    • Still using my own

      7 4.52%
    • Not on Sky

      0 0%
    Page 12 of 13 FirstFirst ... 210111213 LastLast
    Results 111 to 120 of 130

    Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

    This is a discussion on Get your Sky V1 Firmware here! within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; I did my firmware update shortly after NewsreadeR started this post on 14/04/08. My router Firmware is V1.03.87. I decided ...

    1. #111
      jimlad60's Avatar
      jimlad60 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Question Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      I did my firmware update shortly after NewsreadeR started this post on 14/04/08.
      My router Firmware is V1.03.87.
      I decided to check Netgears site to see if there were any further updates here
      Answer
      This site shows the latest firmware to be 1.02.19

      So my question is how do we have what appears to be a more update version than the one
      they advertise on their website.
      Not complaining if we have a better version just wondered how


    2. Advertisement
    3. #112
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,821
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,620 Times in 1,582 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      You have the special Sky firmware, the ones available on the Netgear site are their own standard issue. To use this, you need to Flash you router which is not recommended or required.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #113
      jimlad60's Avatar
      jimlad60 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You have the special Sky firmware, the ones available on the Netgear site are their own standard issue. To use this, you need to Flash you router which is not recommended or required.
      Thanks for the reply Isitme I understand now. Nice to know we get the special stuff at Sky

    5. #114
      astas's Avatar
      astas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Blyth
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Well, that's mine done. Easy as pie (whatever that means). Thanks Skyuser

    6. #115
      T1Cybernetic's Avatar
      T1Cybernetic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSEM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Awesomeness Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Wakefield, West Yorkshire, Uk, Nr Earth
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Quote Originally Posted by astas View Post
      Well, that's mine done. Easy as pie (whatever that means). Thanks Skyuser
      Pie is easy to make (for some people) I have never tried to make a pie before!



      Does anyone have any networking problems with netgear firmware 1.02.19? Random connection problems on wired computers is what i keep getting, When i start a pc up it does not connect to the router and i occasionally have to power cycle /reboot the router to get connected.

      It could be nothing but i thought i would ask because it only started happening this week when i flashed to 1.02.19...
      Empty your mind. Be formless, shapeless, like water. Now you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle, it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow, or it can crash! Be water, my friend. (Bruce Lee)

    7. #116
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,821
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,620 Times in 1,582 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Easy as pie (whatever that means).
      Another American expression which has crept into UK use. I think it refers to eating the pie, rather than making it.

      It could be nothing but i thought i would ask because it only started happening this week when i flashed to 1.02.19...
      I don't think there are many here who are running the Netgear firmware, most who don't use the official one use the DGTeam Firmware If you have flashed to Netgear's, why not have a look at that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #117
      jimlad60's Avatar
      jimlad60 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Another American expression which has crept into UK use. I think it refers to eating the pie, rather than making it.

      I don't think there are many here who are running the Netgear firmware, most who don't use the official one use the DGTeam Firmware If you have flashed to Netgear's, why not have a look at that.
      I decided to give it a try so I downloaded the DG834GT V1.01.32 DGTeam 0743.zip file. My router is DG834GT Firmware version V1.03.87.
      I logged onto the router selected Router Upgrade and then selected the above file.
      I then selected Upload and received the error message "Invalid filename was provided enter again (*.img)"

      I then created a folder and placed the file in it and unzipped it there.
      I now had the DG834GT_V1.01.32_DGTeam_0743.IMG in the folder.
      I then logged onto the router selected Router Upgrade and then selected the DG834GT_V1.01.32_DGTeam_0743.IMG file then selected Upload.
      The upgrade started but then ceased with the
      following error message

      Upgrade file is not the correct type or version for this device.Upgrade failed.
      Please obtain the correct file and try again

      Could anyone possibly advise what I'm doing wrong

    9. #118
      tequilacrush's Avatar
      tequilacrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington / Crewe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      The latest firmware for the DG834GT by the DGTeam is 0848. Does that work for you when you upgrade using that instead?

      The name of the file that needs to be downloaded is DG834GT_V1.02.16_DGTeam_0848.zip

    10. #119
      tequilacrush's Avatar
      tequilacrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington / Crewe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Just realised from one of your earlier posts, do you still have the original Sky firmware on you router? If so, to allow you to use other (non-Sky) firmware in the future, you'll need to upgrade it to your router by using Netgear's DG834 Recovery Utility (from their website). Any future (non-Sky) upgrades will then work ok.

    11. #120
      jimlad60's Avatar
      jimlad60 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Thanks for reply tequilacrush

      Will give that a try and let you know how it goes

     

     
    Page 12 of 13 FirstFirst ... 210111213 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO