Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Have you self upgraded yet?

    Voters
    155. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      110 70.97%
    • No

      29 18.71%
    • Will wait for rollout

      9 5.81%
    • Still using my own

      7 4.52%
    • Not on Sky

      0 0%
    Page 10 of 13 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast
    Results 91 to 100 of 130

    Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

    This is a discussion on Get your Sky V1 Firmware here! within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by Isitme What FW is on the router at the moment? Look at the Status page of the ...

    1. #91
      andybuk99's Avatar
      andybuk99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      What FW is on the router at the moment? Look at the Status page of the router, what does it say at the top? If you have not upgraded it, it will have upgraded itself automatically. If you have put non Sky firmware on you will have to remove it before you upgrade.
      Thanks for the reply, sorry I havent responded earlier. The firmware is an UberGT firmware - V1.02.04-UberGT1.05-by-Bracco. I cant for the life of me see how I can remove it.

      TIA


    2. Advertisement
    3. #92
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,822
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,620 Times in 1,582 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      I think you may have to use the Netgear Recovery Tool to over-ride the installed firmware. There are forum users who are familiar with the FW you are using so hang on for a bit and see if one of them has a better idea. If no one can suggest anything else then give it a go. If your PC is seeing the router during the update process, that is half the battle.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #93
      jamsterfrog's Avatar
      jamsterfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earlsdon-CMEARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD,x2 sky+
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Installed it , internet speed dropped by a third :?
      Trying to roll back to original. Router still detects 6.5 ,speed test and connection status show more as 2.5
      OOoops!

    5. #94
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,822
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,620 Times in 1,582 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      If you are using a Sky DG834GT router it would be done automatically by now. There is no need to do it manually. What Version number do you have?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #95
      jamsterfrog's Avatar
      jamsterfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earlsdon-CMEARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD,x2 sky+
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!




      Im using dg834gt

      Is there a version number I need to be concerned with? If so, cant find it.
      Did ring sky to check and they say theres a system wide problem at the mo, but thats probably fob-speak to get rid.

      Any ideas would be good.

      Jams

      IGNORE THIS POST.
      IT WAS SKY TWEAKING ME PIPES


      PS
      Tried to downgrade but that didnt work
      Last edited by jamsterfrog; 03-12-08 at 08:08 PM.

    7. #96
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,083
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Quote Originally Posted by jamsterfrog View Post
      Router still detects 6.5 ,speed test and connection status show more as 2.5
      You can't trust speedtesters in general and speedtest.net in particular. Of those that are reasonable I'd recommend Skyuser's, Giganews Europe and Namesco, though all three can suffer some peak time slowdown.

      A better test would be to download a large file from a known fast server.


      Edit: as an example I've just tested my connection and spedtest.net gave 4580kbps, Skyuser 5320kbps and Namesco 11230kbps (my router sync is 13910kbps). Which one should I believe?

      Checking again with a large download and Be's tester (I'm on their network), Namesco seems just about right. Had I believed speedtest.net I'd think I had a problem.
      Last edited by Saturday; 02-12-08 at 08:22 PM.

    8. #97
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,822
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,620 Times in 1,582 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      The latest firmware for the Sky DG834GT is V1.03.87. You will find the version number at the top of the router status page. It is very unlikely this is the cause of your problems.
      It is only my opinion, but I think this thread should be closed and a new one started using one recommended by NR. Speedtest.net has proved time and again to be inaccurate and at times downright misleading.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #98
      jamsterfrog's Avatar
      jamsterfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earlsdon-CMEARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD,x2 sky+
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Aha!


      Sorry guys, I was in the process of having an all round systems upgrade . Which included ringing sky and querying my bill as well as system tweak ,of which this was one.
      The nice bloke cut my monthly outgoings by 40 !! good you might think? well it was ,till I found out he had reduced my b.band from max to mid...after explicitly explaining that he shouldn't do this as I was happy with it.
      Now I have to wait 5 days for the line to go back to its original speed.
      Just an addendum...I cant get 16 meg,but when Im on max I can reach 6.5-7ish (which is under 8 meg) when I go on mid(which is under 8 meg) I go down to 2.5-3ish
      Any ideas or am I the subject of phenomena???????

      Jams

      Ps it only took 2 hours on the phone to resolve and another call today for 30 min

    10. #99
      jamsterfrog's Avatar
      jamsterfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earlsdon-CMEARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD,x2 sky+
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Just tested at site....


      here

      Its getting worse!!

    11. #100
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,083
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Get your Sky V1 Firmware here!

      Not good - is that wireless?

     

     
    Page 10 of 13 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO