Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Want it now?

    Voters
    123. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      88 71.54%
    • No

      1 0.81%
    • I will wait for it

      5 4.07%
    • Not bothered

      7 5.69%
    • Use my own anyway

      3 2.44%
    • I already have it

      19 15.45%
    Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 167

    Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

    This is a discussion on Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by irrelevant Basically, if you have seperate subnets on your LAN (due in my case to having a ...

    1. #51
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Quote Originally Posted by irrelevant View Post
      Basically, if you have seperate subnets on your LAN (due in my case to having a seperate hardware firewall separating them) and rely on the 'static routes' page on the DG834GT to ensure data goes to the correct place, then you will find that you cannot access the internet from the other subnet.

      Bit of a long shot, but have you tried doing a factory reset? ie Pin in the back for about 10 seconds or so. Bit of a pain, but may sort it for you.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      VEG's Avatar
      VEG
      VEG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maesteg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      IRRELEVENT you asked in your post "Now, where can I download the OLD firmware, please?" as i said it is on the disk.

    4. #53
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Quote Originally Posted by TheWhizzz View Post
      when people have had the upgrade of the firmware does it change any settings in the router ?? ie i have a pc via lan socket and a laptop wirelessly also have printer sharing will these stay the same or will i have to rescan for the router as i have changed the WPA-PSK Security Encryption password will this go back to default password?
      it shouldnt.

    5. #54
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Nothing was changed on my router when it was done last night so you should be OK.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #55
      steellam's Avatar
      steellam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Just a thought, could someone who has been updated to the new firmware not download it off their router somehow to make it available straight away ?

    7. #56
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Can't be done. At least, not easily.

    8. #57
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Quote Originally Posted by steellam View Post
      Just a thought, could someone who has been updated to the new firmware not download it off their router somehow to make it available straight away ?
      Don't worry, its coming soon....................


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #58
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Just a thought, could someone who has been updated to the new firmware not download it off their router somehow to make it available straight away ?
      Even if it were possible, it would probably contravene some copywrite T & Cs as the software is owned by Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #59
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Only a few small parts of the firmware are actually Sky's IP.

    11. #60
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      They didn't bother much about that when they put this in the T & Cs
      The software in your Wireless Router is owned by or licensed to Sky

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO