Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Want it now?

    Voters
    123. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      88 71.54%
    • No

      1 0.81%
    • I will wait for it

      5 4.07%
    • Not bothered

      7 5.69%
    • Use my own anyway

      3 2.44%
    • I already have it

      19 15.45%
    Page 4 of 17 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 167

    Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

    This is a discussion on Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; yes, still waiting... NewsreadeR...

    1. #31
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      yes, still waiting... NewsreadeR


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,002
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      As NR has said, there will be a full tutorial on how to do it, so I suggest we let them get on with that and then ask the q's when it's posted.

    4. #33
      VEG's Avatar
      VEG
      VEG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maesteg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Imagine the hits when the link goes up lol

    5. #34
      Tonytronic's Avatar
      Tonytronic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMBPZ
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      west midlands
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Bravo!
      Excellente!!
      Magnifique!!!

      Ok, you get the idea... I'm very happy this option will now be made available.

      And a BIG "Thankyou" to both SkyUser and Sky themselves for arranging to provide this option.
      I'm so happy I'm going to have a nice cup of tea!

      Tonytronic.

    6. #35
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      ummm, what happens when the router downloads the upgraded firmware, i keep reading the orange tick light and power light fluctuate, i also read that there is no internet connection while this is happening.
      The router first downloads the new firmware into its working memory and then drops the Internet connection. Once the Internet connection is down, it then copies the firmware from its working memory into the flash memory. Whilst it's copying the firmware into the flash memory, the power and tick lights will flash alternately. (Erm, at least I think they will - having never seen an automatic update taking place, I can't say for sure).

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      How does one trigger the router to downlaod the newer firmware even if it thinks theres no new firmware there?
      There's no way of doing that. You can force the router to check for new firmware, but if Sky isn't ready to give it to your router, then there's nothing the router can do to force Sky to give it the firmware. When Sky are ready to do an automatic update of your firmware, they will make the new firmware available to your router, and then force your connection down. The router will reconnect and after a few minutes it will check for new firmware, find it and download it.

      In other words, you can force the router to check, but it won't get the firmware any sooner than it otherwise would have.

      Of course, if we get a link from which we can download the new firmware, then all this "automatic updates", "forcing upgrade checks" stuff becomes irrelevant.

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      i also read that a certain link you must type in your browser with your router MAC address, trys to access new firmware, is this true?
      I asked someone who had just received the new firmware to try out a URL for me. I was hoping it might have allowed us to see where the router had downloaded the update from, but that wasn't the case. I certainly didn't say that it's something you need to do.

      So basically, don't worry, don't panic, everything will be fine.

    7. #36
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      I can't do it anyway i still have the original firmware installed with CU2.04 mod.

    8. #37
      rep-786's Avatar
      rep-786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southall
      Broadband ISP: o2 Standard
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Quote Originally Posted by Simon View Post
      Must agree it did seem like a postcode lottery game.
      lol agreed:P

    9. #38
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Sky User - Unofficial Help and Support for Sky Broadband and everything Sky! - How to update your Sky Netgear V1 Router with the new FW

      Obviously there is no download link at the moment, but if we can make it any clearer for anyone, could you please suggest in this thread?


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #39
      davison89's Avatar
      davison89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nertherly
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Warning


      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Please be patient while we upgrade your Sky Broadband Box (this may take a few minutes.)

      Do not turn off the Broadband Box - when the upgrade has finished, it will reboot automatically.

      Message i just got whilst i was browsing online, i dont use sky's page or this website much pretty crazy.

      whats new?

      oh and Firmware Version V1.03.87

    11. #40
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Stop Press - New FW - Stop Press

      Quote Originally Posted by AlexS View Post
      Sorry, I may be missing something here, but I thought the V1 routers used a Broadcomm chipset and the V2 a Texas Instruments AR7 chipset. I thought these firmware mods were specifically to stabilise the ADSL connectivity of modems using the TI AR7 as they were susceptable to wild fluctuations of noise margin on long/noisy lines. A problem the Broadcomm-based Netgear's were not supposed to be susceptable to. Er, I think that makes sense....
      It's not the hardware that's at fault, it's the firmware. The problems with stability that the V1 routers have is down to them having ADSL driver code that is something like 18 months old. Broadcom have since released new driver code to manufacturers like Netgear, and they in turn have incorporated that new code into their latest firmware releases. But because the Sky box uses customised firmware, updated firmware with the new ADSL driver code hasn't been available until now.

      By the way, you're right in saying that the V1 router uses the Broadcom ADSL chip, but of the two V2 routers, it's only the Netgear DG934G that uses the TI AR7 chip - the Sagem F@ST2504 uses the same Broadcom chip that the V1 router uses. I suppose you could say that the fact that the Sagem router performs so much better than the original V1 router proves that the V1's problems were down to firmware rather than hardware.

     

     
    Page 4 of 17 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO