Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 48 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 471

    Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

    This is a discussion on Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!! within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; @ james 67 oh!!! so in short i CANT the firmware and turn it into A SKY ROUTER as to ...

    1. #71
      maw's Avatar
      maw
      maw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: canterbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      @ james 67 oh!!! so in short i CANT the firmware and turn it into A SKY ROUTER as to speak. :/


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      ^what did you want the stats for?

    4. #73
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by maw View Post
      @ james 67 oh!!! so in short i CANT the firmware and turn it into A SKY ROUTER as to speak. :/
      No. Only routers which have been supplied by Sky can run the Sky firmware successfully. But the router supplied to you by Sky was the newer, dark grey DG934G router, so you aren't due to get an update anyway.

      If you want to keep using your own DG834GT, then just update it to the latest Netgear firmware for that router (if you haven't already done so). I assume you are aware of the risks of using a router that wasn't supplied to you by Sky. Those risks apply even if the router you're using happens to be the same model as the ones supplied by Sky.

    5. #74
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,179
      Thanks
      303
      Thanked 148 Times in 142 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Does "Respond to Ping on Internet WAN Port" need to be ticked to receive the forthcoming firmware upgrade?

      (It's on the Advanced/WAN Setup page of the DG834GT router UI).

    6. #75
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      No - the current FW on the Sky router will do all the work for you


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #76
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,182
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by tvsizedoesmatter View Post
      Will we be informed by email first or a pop up advising us the router fw is being updated. I don't leave my router on 24/7 so if I have a problem my first thought would be sky are having problems, then the router so I'd reboot it?

      Thanks
      As said earlier that is a no but there isn't really any need to turn your router off as they are deigned to be on 24/7.

    8. #77
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      or a pop up advising us the router fw is being updated.
      You should see a screen similar to this as and when it happens.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!-fwupgraderouter.jpg  


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #78
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      You should see a screen similar to this as and when it happens.
      is that in any browser connected to the router?

    10. #79
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      From what I have heard, once the update triggers off, it will give you a screen like that on your browser and will not let you surf the internet.

      The biggest problem that I can foresee, is those using Mossywell's utility. This could force the router to reboot and break the upgrade process and render your router useless in that state.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #80
      Godzilla's Avatar
      Godzilla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke (THBZ)
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Humax FreesatHD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      So. Newsreader, would you recommend we all stop using Mossywell? I have been relying heavily on it for a long time. Hopefully after the upgrade there will be no need anyway -

     

     
    Page 8 of 48 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO