Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 48 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 471

    Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

    This is a discussion on Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!! within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; LOL - I am assuming the password won't change, and hopefully it won't, worse case scenario is the defaults of ...

    1. #51
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      LOL - I am assuming the password won't change, and hopefully it won't, worse case scenario is the defaults of admin and sky will be needed to get back in afterwards


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      If the router is rebooted whilst the flash memory is being reprogrammed, it's quite likely to leave the router in it's "recovery" state with the alternately flashing power and tick lights. It should be possible to get the router working again by using the Netgear Recovery Utility.

      If you're really unlucky, however, and the reboot occurs just as the boot section of the flash is being rewritten, the router won't be recoverable without a soldering iron and some specialised equipment. In that situation, Sky would have to replace the router really - just make sure you don't mention the Mossywell app!
      That will be the reason for the reference made in the PM - thanks for the heads up.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #53
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      The whole idea behind the new FW is to stop problems like these, ie so your router if you are having problems will be more stable.
      Well I'm still not too chuffed at the thought of being unable to get any info from my router. If you can't get any stats, how can you begin to diagnose any issues? It will be like trying to thread a needle with a blindfold on! One of the main purposes of this forum will cease to function because people won't be able to offer help and advise.

      The problem I have is that if it doesn't solve the issues, I have no way of curing them. Currently Mossywells app works a charm for me, using some custom commands. Although I have had a few problems lately with http speeds, but I'm hoping that's a temporary glitch.

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      You are fearing the worst and for no reason imho. It is highly unlikely that you will lose anything. Rules, config etc even your password should remain exactly the same as before the update.
      Well that's good to hear, like I say, I was just making an assumption, and I did say as much in my original post. Still, I think I'll have to trawl through the router settings and make a note of everything now just in case!

    5. #54
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Well I'm still not too chuffed at the thought of being unable to get any info from my router. If you can't get any stats, how can you begin to diagnose any issues? It will be like trying to thread a needle with a blindfold on! One of the main purposes of this forum will cease to function because people won't be able to offer help and advise.
      I am sure that as soon as the new FW comes out, James67 or others may just come up with something else to extract the stats etc.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #55
      tvsizedoesmatter's Avatar
      tvsizedoesmatter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sydenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid, Sky Talk unlimited, Sky Talk line rental
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Beckenham
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by indefatigable View Post

      The upgrade will take place at off-peak times to minimize disruption, and the process should take about 10 minutes.

      During this time, you will have no access to the internet, but after the box restarts, you broadband will be back.
      Hope that is useful for you all.

      Indefatigable
      Will we be informed by email first or a pop up advising us the router fw is being updated. I don't leave my router on 24/7 so if I have a problem my first thought would be sky are having problems, then the router so I'd reboot it?

      Thanks

    7. #56
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by tvsizedoesmatter View Post
      Will we be informed by email first or a pop up advising us the router fw is being updated...Thanks
      No.
      Nor will you have the option to decline, defer or reject an upgrade.
      That way, when your router or computer crashes
      or there are software conflicts the fault will be yours.
      Sky have tested this upgrade extensively to make sure that there
      will never be a problem of their making. They are so confident of
      this they will take no responsibility when things go wrong.


      I am not psychic. I used to be with AOL.

    8. #57
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by murdock View Post
      No. They are so confident of
      this they will take no responsibility when things go wrong.


      [/I]
      That seems a bit harsh to me, i thought i had read on the forum if the router does go pear shapped, thay would send out a replacement
      Last edited by richone54; 25-03-08 at 11:44 AM. Reason: spelling

    9. #58
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by murdock View Post
      No.
      Nor will you have the option to decline, defer or reject an upgrade.
      That way, when your router or computer crashes
      or there are software conflicts the fault will be yours.
      Sky have tested this upgrade extensively to make sure that there
      will never be a problem of their making. They are so confident of
      this they will take no responsibility when things go wrong.
      LOL, now that would be hilarious if it weren't for the fact it's probably true!

      So it's my fault if Sky update the router firmware on a piece of hardware that Sky supplied and I had no option in. I guess the stealth tactics of doing this without telling customers is a good way for them to deny anything has changed, so it must be the customers fault. They have tested it to make sure there will never be a problem? How exactly have they managed to do that? They tested the upgrade during power cuts and lightning strikes? It's rare, but these things have happened before. I'm sure they'd like to take no responsibility because that's an easy cop out... but I'm not so sure they will get away with it.
      Last edited by Luffer; 25-03-08 at 11:38 AM. Reason: fixed formatting

    10. #59
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      That seems a bit harsh to me, i thought i had read on the forum if the router does go pear shapped, thay woould xend out a replacement
      And if your computer crashes as a direct result of the upgrade -
      will they send you a new computer?

      Something similar happened to AOL members a couple of years ago.
      I read on the AOL message boards at the time that some people
      complained about the crashes to Ofcom.
      But I do not know the outcome.
      AOL bullied members to upgrade but at least you had the option
      not to upgrade a router (Alcatel Speedtouch) that should not
      have been upgraded. AOL had supplied the router.
      I left before it happened to me.

      I am not psychic. I used to be with AOL.

    11. #60
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      One other issue that springs to mind is whether Netgear will be releasing a software kit for this new firmware.

      The licence for much of the firmware (the GNU GPL) requires that the source code be released, and in the past Netgear have not only complied with the letter of that licence but the spirit as well, releasing a complete software kit which allows users to build modified firmware images. This makes it much easier to hack into the router, and I'm sure Sky will be aware of this.

      I've checked on Netgear's FTP server and there's no software kit for the new firmware. Well, not yet.

     

     
    Page 6 of 48 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO