Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 42 of 48 FirstFirst ... 324041424344 ... LastLast
    Results 411 to 420 of 471

    Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

    This is a discussion on Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!! within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; No, you can't change the DNS settings in the router. You'll have to set it on each machine connecting to ...

    1. #411
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      No, you can't change the DNS settings in the router. You'll have to set it on each machine connecting to the router in the network setting.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #412
      Topkidben's Avatar
      Topkidben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby - EMTHRNB
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      136
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Ok thanks for the help.

    4. #413
      Topkidben's Avatar
      Topkidben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby - EMTHRNB
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      136
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Can someone tell me what is going on here please. Right well i 2 plug sockets and there is plug extension socket coming off one of them and connected to the plugs are Xbox 360, Nintedo Wii, Television (Using Digital) and a radio. The Xbox 360 and the Nintendo Wii connect wirelessly to the router when their plugs are turned on. Here are my router stats before i turn the plugs on to my Xbox 360, Wii, Television and Radio.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5069 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 29.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 11.0 db

      Sometimes in the 7.0db aswell. Right here are the next results after i turn the plug sockets on to my tele, radio, xbox 360 and wii.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5069 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 29.2 db
      Noise Margin 5.4 db 11.0 db

      So can someone please tell me why the Noise Margin takes a noes dive?

      Oh yh and when i turn the plugs off the noise margin rises again if that helps you.
      Last edited by Topkidben; 12-04-08 at 10:41 AM.

    5. #414
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Hi.
      A drop of 1.2db is not a lot. It could be down to a noisy mains socket somewhere, although I would expect that to kill your BB connection completly. Don't worry about it.

    6. #415
      Topkidben's Avatar
      Topkidben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby - EMTHRNB
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      136
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Ok thanks Brian i have the new firmware BTW.

    7. #416
      sherlok1948's Avatar
      sherlok1948 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      No update in Reading so far. Didn't someone say that we should all be updated by 12 April - today! I thought that was too good to be true. Alternatively, where is this dowload site?

    8. #417
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Real soon now, I'd expectů

    9. #418
      castro's Avatar
      castro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hythe, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      My router was "done" on Thursday night.
      Up until now, I have had to operate in GDMT mode to maintain a reliable connection
      ADSL2+ was giving me 15+ mbps connection speed and an actual download speed around 14 mbps. BUT when the nm dropped below 6.7 the connection dropped etc. (You've heard it all before)
      Last night the nm started off at 7.2 and dropped to around 6.2 at 22.00 hrs.
      The connection was maintained and speeds were good.
      So, so far so good.

    10. #419
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Out of curiosity, has anyone said what the ADSL firmware version number is with the new firmware? You'll see it on the router status page, next to "ADSL Firmware Version".

    11. #420
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      No idea what is was before but its now: A2pB023b.d20e


     

     
    Page 42 of 48 FirstFirst ... 324041424344 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO