Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 48 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 471

    Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

    This is a discussion on Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!! within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by dholdi Your sync speed is dependent on your line attenuation which is governed by line length, not ...

    1. #11
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Your sync speed is dependent on your line attenuation which is governed by line length, not router firmware version so unless you are planning to move closer to the exchange at the same time as they upgrade your firmware then I'm afraid the answer is no.



      Without seeing your router stats we dont know whether you are capped at that sync for a reason or thats the max your line will support.
      If the new ADSL driver is alot better then the line ATT could go down and sync speed can go up.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      does this mean we lose out detailed stats for good?

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Mognuts Utility will no longer work, once this roll out is implemented.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      StarmanUK's Avatar
      StarmanUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EASTF
      Broadband ISP: O2 Home Broadband Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Essex, UK
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Well its good news it seems. Shame about the lose of the detailed stats for those with the v1 router.
      There is no Tier 3, only Zhul or rather the Customer Solutions Team...

    6. #15
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      ^^James will probally sort that out

    7. #16
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,182
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by murdock View Post
      Excellent thread indefatigable.

      I have had the white router since September 2006
      with an excellent service.
      UPnP is turned off and I miss nothing at all.
      My speed is twice as fast as I had from AOL -
      at half the price.

      So why don't Sky roll this out first to those who have problems?
      If they "brick" my router without giving me the options to
      accept, decline or defer the upgrade is Sky going to take responsibility
      for my loss of the Internet and hardware and software crashes?

      I am not psychic. I used to be with AOL.
      I am the same as you in that I have a perfect connection and have never had any issue's with the router. I just hope, fingers crossed, that nothing goes wrong.

    8. #17
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,278
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      If the new ADSL driver is alot better then the line ATT could go down and sync speed can go up.
      Yes, thats true although I doubt it would change by more than 1/2 to 1 db max.


    9. #18
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      telnet the router and type in the following commands..
      AFAIK this will stop the router for searching for the new FW,, ....
      So be careful..
      Thanks Monday. But I will not mess with a router that works
      perfectly well as it is.
      Or give Sky a cop out.
      Whoever messes with the router should take responsibility if things
      go wrong. As they surely will. And that should include Sky.
      Even Microsoft gives you the option to upgrade or not.

      I am not psychic. I used to be with AOL.

    10. #19
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Yeah wen i meant be carefuil i meant you have to type the commands in every time the router reboots otherwise it will get the update..

      TBH i would take the update sky throws at you. Trust me they have taken every precaution to make sure it does not brick anyones router., and if you dont like the new FW just flash the old one back on from the CD.
      Last edited by Monday; 23-03-08 at 06:29 PM.

    11. #20
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Phase 1 Firmware upgrade confirmed!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      telnet the router and type in the following commands..

      nvram unset daily_check
      nvram unset nvram_need_post
      nvram unset ppp_terminate
      nvram unset prov_last_attempt_time
      nvram unset prov_last_update_time
      nvram unset prov_post_status

      AFAIK this will stop the router for searching for the new FW,, so you wont get it. When you reboot the router the router will search for the new FW straight away (usually in the first 10mintues of the router switching on). So be careful..
      No, no, that will make the router more likely to check for an update because it will think that it's never checked for one before.

      If you want to disable updates, you need to telnet into the router and type
      Code:
      killall provisioning_ap
      But you're right that it has to be done every time the router is rebooted.

     

     
    Page 2 of 48 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO