Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 44

    V1 Router FW Rollouts?

    This is a discussion on V1 Router FW Rollouts? within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; nope from what's been posted, its only going out to sky staff at the mo....

    1. #31
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,001
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      nope from what's been posted, its only going out to sky staff at the mo.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      dazzuk's Avatar
      dazzuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      209
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      If you have changed the Username and Password on the router will they still be able to update it remotely?
      Dazz
      Got Fibre, Yay!!


    4. #33
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      ^^Its for staff only at the mo

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Unofficially, this info has since been denied and that the rollout is for a staff trial only.

    5. #34
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      Quote Originally Posted by dazzuk View Post
      If you have changed the Username and Password on the router will they still be able to update it remotely?

      is that the login details to the router (admin/sky)or have you flashed it ?

    6. #35
      Kbramman's Avatar
      Kbramman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dulwich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      ^^Its for staff only at the mo
      Still a valid question even if the roll out isn't happening yet, gives Dazz a chance to reset everything if the answer in no!

    7. #36
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      Quote Originally Posted by Kbramman View Post
      Still a valid question even if the roll out isn't happening yet, gives Dazz a chance to reset everything if the answer in no!
      Its in a multi stage roll out. It goes to the staff first then to the customers. At the moment no customer has been given the update. Its still in the first stage.

    8. #37
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      Quote Originally Posted by dazzuk View Post
      If you have changed the Username and Password on the router will they still be able to update it remotely?
      If you mean the login of admin and sky changed to say Dazz and password - you should be fine afaik

      If you have flashed the FW to a none Sky one, that would probably hamper the update.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #38
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      Changing the password for the router's configuration pages will definitely not hamper the update, but running the standard Netgear firmware will definitely stop it happening.

      The key thing to remember is that Sky don't take control of your router to update the firmware, it's the Sky-customised firmware on the router which periodically checks with Sky to see if new firmware is available. In other words, it's a "pull" operation not a "push" operation.

      Despite that, however, Sky can still roll out the firmware in stages, because what happens is that the router contacts Sky's update server, and says "my MAC address is ... and I'm running V1.02.28 firmware, do you have an update for me?" So Sky just have to say "yes" for some MAC addresses and "no" for others, resulting a limited number of routers getting upgraded.

    10. #39
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,001
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      Just for info.......

      I have been using a sky router with normal netgear FW for the past 6 months or so (beacuse I wanted to be able to use uPnP).

      Today I decided to put on old Sky router back in ready for the rollout (okay i'm being optimistic that it will happen for the public soon).

      I've also switched uPnP back on and so far (touch wood) it;'s been going over an hour without the old 20min uPnP problem!?!?!?!?!?!

    11. #40
      dazzuk's Avatar
      dazzuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      209
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: V1 Router FW Rollouts?

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      is that the login details to the router (admin/sky)or have you flashed it ?
      Its just the login details I have changed, I don't personally have any problems with my connection so have not bothered flashing with the Netgear version.

      Thanks
      Dazz
      Got Fibre, Yay!!


     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO