Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

    This is a discussion on Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Amstrad and BSkyB are to produce a pioneering set-top box that will link every television in the home, and let ...

    1. #1
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      Amstrad and BSkyB are to produce a pioneering set-top box that will link every television in the home, and let viewers record and play back two different programmes on separate TV sets simultaneously.

      The box, which is already under development and due to launch next year, will be the first new product for the pair following Sky's decision to take Amstrad's expertise in-house by buying the company.

      Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box - Telegraph


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,001
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts

      Re: Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      it's just a shame the the current range of amstrad sky boxes dont have a good reputation.

    4. #3
      charmed12007's Avatar
      charmed12007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: lisburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      lisburn
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      The new Amstrad product will mean viewers won't need to litter their homes with new equipment. It uses cables to link two or more sets, and can be programmed to record two separate shows at the same time from separate rooms.

      there for me is the problem cables all over the house

      unless it uses earthnet then i can use homeplugs i have 3 already to connect my broadband to 1x pc and 1x laptop.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,001
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts

      Re: Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      I thinkn it means that using the current coax to from the 2nd TV output will allow the feed of a 2nd channel as opposed a duplication of the 1st output/scart (ie users will already have the cable layed).

    6. #5
      acoolwelshbloke's Avatar
      acoolwelshbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea Main
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Swansea, UK.
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      So instead of having mulitple set top boxes your going to litter your home with meters and meters of poorly cliped cables!

      Sounds like a bad Idea to me!

      I can see it now, joe bloggs has standard sky tv in the living room and he chooses to order multiroom! Out comes Mr Engineer with this Amstrad box and replaces the standard box with it, now what? out comes some white co-axe that is cliped around your skirting board and around your door frames up the stairs and into your bedroom just like they do with that horrible BT extension cable they use! YUK

      Also I like having more than one set top box, after all if one box breaks you still have the other or others till you can get the faulty one replaced!
      Last edited by acoolwelshbloke; 08-08-07 at 12:37 PM.

    7. #6
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      Yup I agree my new HD box has a hard disc fault and whilst waiting for Sky to extract their digit and get it replaced I am having to record everything on the Sky+ box upstairs.

      Considering I have 4 TV's in my house there will be miles of cables, I hope that it could be run using Wi-Fi or video senders.

      Although this box is still in development hopefully this will be trialed in peoples homes 1st to see if it a winner.

    8. #7
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      337
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      I think it won't be too different to the one Pace are currently making, which uses Ethernet. I don't think Sky would take a backwards step and connect the rooms up with coax.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,835
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      I dunno sounds like a good idea to me, especially as my house is already coaxed up, with well hidden cables so I can watch programs from my SKy + elsewhere. Just keep your old box as a backup, could save on a multiroom subscription as well. That is useless they plan charging extra subscription for this fancy box which wouldn't suprise me!

    10. #9
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      Ahem, did I not mention this back in February

    11. #10
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      477
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Amstrad to produce multi-TV Sky box

      I've heard that they are currently planning a sky+ box with a built-in dvd player/burner??

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO