Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Transfer a Recording to a PC?

    This is a discussion on Transfer a Recording to a PC? within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello All, Firstly a big "Hello" to you all. I've literally just joined and would be very grateful for any ...

    1. #1
      Boughtonfields's Avatar
      Boughtonfields is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01622
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Transfer a Recording to a PC?

      Hello All,

      Firstly a big "Hello" to you all. I've literally just joined and would be very grateful for any help you can offer!

      I have a Sky+HD subscription. Not sure the make of my box but it's model number is DRX890.
      I recently recorded an acoustic set by Skunk Anansie which was on Sky Arts channel.
      It's in HD and the audio is 5.1

      I'd really like to keep the recording. I stupidly assumed I could just transfer it from the Sky box to my laptop and then burn it to disc. Seems this isn't the case!

      I've read and read a million threads on and around the subject, some new some old and all I've managed to do is thoroughly confuse myself!

      So hopefully you guys can help?
      I'd like to transfer the recording to my laptop, preserving the HD quality & 5.1 audio.
      I'm not that techy so I'd be grateful if you could be gentle with me!
      I don't mind spending a bit of cash if needs be on any required hardware or software.

      I don't anticipate transferring loads of recordings in the future - just the odd recording here and there.

      Thanks in advance for your help...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Transfer a Recording to a PC?

      You can do it, but you will need a HD PC Capture card, something like this -- http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hauppauge-Ca.../dp/B001M0MY10 I don't know how faithfully the picture and sound will be reproduced. You may have to go a bit higher and look at an HDMI input, such as this - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...K9K3DKTC51PXWR

      If you are happy with SD then its a lot cheaper. I have used this with some success - http://www.amazon.co.uk/ClimaxDigita...v+capture+card

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Boughtonfields's Avatar
      Boughtonfields is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01622
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Transfer a Recording to a PC?

      Many thanks for the info and links.
      There's certainly a big price difference between SD and HD!

      I've had a look at the Hauppauge HD PVR2 HDMI Capture Device on Amazon.
      If I understand it correctly...
      The HDMI lead from the Sky box would go to the PVRs 'hdmi in', then the PVRs 'hdmi out' would go to the TV.
      I connect the PVR to my laptop via usb and hey presto! can then record Sky channels to the laptop harddrive (once the software is setup on the laptop).
      So I assume for the recording that's already on the Sky box, I would simply play it on the sky box as if I was going to watch it normally, but record it via the PVR at the same time?

      Is my understanding correct or have I missed something?

    5. #4
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,490
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Transfer a Recording to a PC?

      Quote Originally Posted by Boughtonfields View Post
      Many thanks for the info and links.
      There's certainly a big price difference between SD and HD!

      I've had a look at the Hauppauge HD PVR2 HDMI Capture Device on Amazon.
      If I understand it correctly...
      The HDMI lead from the Sky box would go to the PVRs 'hdmi in', then the PVRs 'hdmi out' would go to the TV.
      I connect the PVR to my laptop via usb and hey presto! can then record Sky channels to the laptop harddrive (once the software is setup on the laptop).
      So I assume for the recording that's already on the Sky box, I would simply play it on the sky box as if I was going to watch it normally, but record it via the PVR at the same time?

      Is my understanding correct or have I missed something?
      If that's too much hassle there is a pretty big [1080p] file [7.94 GiB (8523573593 Bytes)] on a certain Swedish torrent site which might be the same thing?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Transfer a Recording to a PC?

      So I assume for the recording that's already on the Sky box, I would simply play it on the sky box as if I was going to watch it normally, but record it via the PVR at the same time?

      Is my understanding correct or have I missed something?
      That would be my understanding too.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION