Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 36
    Like Tree5Likes

    More New Features for Sky's EPG

    This is a discussion on More New Features for Sky's EPG within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I've had update but when i watch a recording then press backup it says PLAYING then changes back to VIEWED ...

    1. #21
      Calsoul's Avatar
      Calsoul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Location
      Tipton
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD STB Firmware Versions

      I've had update but when i watch a recording then press backup it says PLAYING then changes back to VIEWED is that right or a fault. ??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,084
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: More New Features for Sky's EPG

      Quote Originally Posted by Calsoul View Post
      I've had update but when i watch a recording then press backup it says PLAYING then changes back to VIEWED is that right or a fault. ??
      This is correct. It is a 'hidden' feature in the new firmware and perfectly fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #23
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: More New Features for Sky's EPG

      Another new feature is the Planner displaying 'Playing' when a recording is being watched. In addition, the Sky logo is different too.
      Scubbie likes this.

    5. #24
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: More New Features for Sky's EPG

      Quote Originally Posted by Gigabit View Post
      Another new feature is the Planner displaying 'Playing' when a recording is being watched. In addition, the Sky logo is different too.
      Which led my box to a new snaffo, namely getting stuck on a recording showing playing. Only a hard reboot cleared it.

      It's the first problem since I did a planner rebuild a month or so ago. Maybe the recent update has screwed it up again. I guess I had better do another planner rebuild just in case.

    6. #25
      _Andy's Avatar
      _Andy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSPUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More New Features for Sky's EPG

      I think my box updated last night, and brought along some problems with it.

      I can't access On Demand anymore... all I can see is the showcase menu (with blank thumbnail images) - the catch up, library etc menus have disappeared. I checked the network connection info and it seems fine so not sure what's wrong.

      Also, the box seems really sluggish compared to before. It is a DRX890 and the firmware version is R006.058.60.00P.

      Any advice is welcome.

      Thanks,
      Andy

    7. #26
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      515
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: More New Features for Sky's EPG

      Quote Originally Posted by _Andy View Post
      I think my box updated last night, and brought along some problems with it.

      I can't access On Demand anymore... all I can see is the showcase menu (with blank thumbnail images) - the catch up, library etc menus have disappeared. I checked the network connection info and it seems fine so not sure what's wrong.

      Also, the box seems really sluggish compared to before. It is a DRX890 and the firmware version is R006.058.60.00P.
      Try these:

      1. Unplug and re-insert the Ethernet cable.

      2. Reboot the box

      3.
      Perform a planner rebuild

      4. Reboot your router and or WiFi Adaptor (if this is your connection method)
      Last edited by Annie UK; 23-05-13 at 01:34 PM.
      Annie 🦋..........
      My Sky+HD FAQ
      (now with more questions)
      My Sky hardware and setup




    8. #27
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      387
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: More New Features for Sky's EPG

      Quote Originally Posted by _Andy View Post
      I can't access On Demand anymore... all I can see is the showcase menu (with blank thumbnail images) - the catch up, library etc menus have disappeared. I checked the network connection info and it seems fine so not sure what's wrong.
      My box has been doing this on and off for a few weeks now but usually a power-off reboot has fixed it.

    9. #28
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,084
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: More New Features for Sky's EPG

      If you are unsure how to do a Planner Rebuild, I have just created this article:

      How to perform a Planner Rebuild

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #29
      _Andy's Avatar
      _Andy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSPUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More New Features for Sky's EPG

      Thanks guys. Just rebooted the box and On demand is working again. The menus, however, are still quite sluggish. I read somewhere it might take a couple of days to get back to normal, so let's just wait and see!

    11. #30
      keeps54's Avatar
      keeps54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2013
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: More New Features for Sky's EPG

      Does anyone have any idea if or when the Amstrad DRX780UK will be getting the new software? I've been wanting to connect the sky box direct to my AV receiver since day one to get 5.1 over HDMI as my receiver can't override the HDMI audio signal with the optical signal. It would be great to get to a simpler setup than the wires I've currently got between everything.

      I upgraded my box with a 1TB drive this week, will that cause any issues if/when the update comes?

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 07-11-13, 03:31 AM
    2. 05-11-13, 07:34 PM
    3. 02-11-13, 01:43 AM
    4. 18-05-13, 10:49 PM
    5. 10-04-13, 10:24 PM
    6. 29-03-13, 12:11 PM
    7. 26-03-13, 04:29 AM
    8. 21-03-13, 12:12 PM
    9. 20-03-13, 11:23 PM
    10. 20-03-13, 11:01 AM
    11. 20-03-13, 05:25 AM
    12. 19-03-13, 08:15 PM
    13. 19-03-13, 05:35 PM
    14. 19-03-13, 02:34 PM
    15. 19-03-13, 12:40 PM
    16. 19-03-13, 11:56 AM
    17. 19-03-13, 11:38 AM
    18. 19-03-13, 08:32 AM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION