Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky HD TV Guide channel locations?

    This is a discussion on Sky HD TV Guide channel locations? within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have recently upgraded from Sky+ to Sky HD, after some negotiations with Sky (thanks!). Everything is up and working, ...

    1. #1
      Lectrician's Avatar
      Lectrician is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01271
      Broadband ISP: Eclipse Business
      Router: Draytek Vigor 2830n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Location
      Devon
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky HD TV Guide channel locations?

      I have recently upgraded from Sky+ to Sky HD, after some negotiations with Sky (thanks!).

      Everything is up and working, including the ethernet On Demand.

      When I last played with HD at someone elses house, I could have sworn that the HD BBC1 (for example) would be the first channel on the TV guide (in place of the SD BBC1)? Am I mistaken?

      I also recall if you went to an SD channel to view something, and there was an HD version, it would offer yout he choice in a popup message?

      I am finding it a tad annoying searching for HD channels, and end up just watching the SD versions as they are quick to find!

      While I am posting, I know this maybe off topic, but I have used Copy+ a few times in the past when helping others to replace sky boxes or replacing disks etc.

      I thought I would do this again, and copy and convert my SD recordings into the new HD box. Unfortunately mybox has the newer planner software (forget the name?), and it would not work. Is there anything in the pipeline to allow me to copy the old programms from the old box to the new? Can you "merge" from an old Sky+ SD disk to a new Sky HD disk, merging the old programs in with the new?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky HD TV Guide channel locations?

      Sky played around with the HD channel numbers some time ago, which effectively moved the BBC HD channels from near the top of the HD listings to near the bottom of the page. What I've done is to put the HD versions of BBC, ITV, C4 and C5 on to the Favourites menu and select them from there. As far as I'm aware there has never been a popup for HD versions of SD channels on Sky, but some of the other Satellite/Freeview boxes do it.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky HD TV Guide channel locations?

      I don't think you can merge the progams, but have a look here for some info -
      Darwin to Darwin Recording Copier - Beta Testers Wanted!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Lectrician's Avatar
      Lectrician is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01271
      Broadband ISP: Eclipse Business
      Router: Draytek Vigor 2830n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Location
      Devon
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD TV Guide channel locations?

      Thanks. Getting used to it all now, just a shame the recordings I had have to stay on the old box! More because of the grief the misses gives me!

      She wants to watch some of the recordings before the box goes, and so thought I would just plug the old box into a spare TV, wack the viewing card in and let her watch. unfortunately you have to also have the dish connected to allow playback by the looks of things! Will have to swap boxes at the main TV for a day to let her catch up with what she is about to loose!

    6. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,456
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky HD TV Guide channel locations?

      Quote Originally Posted by Lectrician View Post
      Thanks. Getting used to it all now, just a shame the recordings I had have to stay on the old box! More because of the grief the misses gives me!She wants to watch some of the recordings before the box goes, and so thought I would just plug the old box into a spare TV, wack the viewing card in and let her watch. unfortunately you have to also have the dish connected to allow playback by the looks of things! Will have to swap boxes at the main TV for a day to let her catch up with what she is about to loose!
      You'll probably also have to give Sky a call once everything is connected to pair your viewing card to the original box.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky HD TV Guide channel locations?

      Remember if you re-pair the card to the original box the you will loose the ability to record/watch recordings on your new box. Better bite the bullet, cover your ears and forget about it. You may even find the programs she wants to see in the On Demand section, they have a very big selection between the Libruary and all the iPlayers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION