Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Poor Quality Signal / Strength - Have I Caused it?

    This is a discussion on Poor Quality Signal / Strength - Have I Caused it? within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Noticed last night that both signal strength and quality poor on both my HD boxes. What I don't know I ...

    1. #1
      humfer's Avatar
      humfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor Quality Signal / Strength - Have I Caused it?

      Noticed last night that both signal strength and quality poor on both my HD boxes. What I don't know I whether I have caused this. We are having a new extension at the moment and so builders moved dish up wall by about 30cm. Would this have any effect? They were very careful and I thought that dish will work or not work and that it doesn't need to be reset every time it's moved

      Strength is around 60% but quality down to 10-20% and alternates between both inputs. Have had signal issues in the past. Wish I had checked immediately before dish was moved but too late now. In general had no picture issues apart from last night (dish was moved on Wednesday). If I caused the issue fine ill call Sky and pay them to come out but interested to hear what others think


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Poor Quality Signal / Strength - Have I Caused it?

      Its possible it have gone slightly off tune from the move I would have thought.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor Quality Signal / Strength - Have I Caused it?

      I had a quick look around the web as I know even small movement to the dish alignment can cause problems, best ic could find is: UKSatelliteHelp.co.uk - The Perfect Satellite Dish Alignment – a How To Guide
      This at least gives you some idea on what should be done when installing/moving the dish. I know this does not help fully, but might give you some insight ( the builders who moved the dish may have contacts to align properly)

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Poor Quality Signal / Strength - Have I Caused it?

      Your dish needs to be accurately aligned. Moving the whole dish/bracket is unlikely to be as accurate as you'd like and you are now probably just off the primary focus of the satellite. One way to check is to apply slight pressure to the LNB arm (whilst you aren't blocking the signal!) - try up/down and right/left. If the signal strength/quality improves it will give you some idea of how much the dish needs moving by and the direction it needs moving in.

      To illustrte how accurate the dish must be aligned you can buy Monoblocks that incorporate two LNB's to receive two satellites from the one LNB position - with these the LNB's are under 5cm apart for 10 degrees difference. So if your LNB has moved by only a fraction of a centimeter (from the accurate direction) then you could be at the edge of the satellite footprint.

    6. #5
      humfer's Avatar
      humfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Quality Signal / Strength - Have I Caused it?

      Thanks for the help guys. Have noticed that throughout the week the signal strength and quality has been improving (both up to 80% at one point) at stages but in general still pretty poor. Also now noticed a couple of failed recordings. Will try the suggestion of putting a little pressure on the arm to see if that has any impact but my simple question is - if the signal is still varying so much would that be down to my move of the dish or a problem that was probably there before dish was moved? In all probability I will just call Sky and get them out to investigate but would be interested in your comments. If the problem is down to the dish move I would just have expected a big step change with permanent problems ?

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Poor Quality Signal / Strength - Have I Caused it?

      Its probably only slight off, ringing Sky may result in a free service call, or even a charge.

      Hope you get it sorted.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Poor Quality Signal / Strength - Have I Caused it?

      Adjusting it yourself is free! Remember that every degree of movement will focus it some 400km closer to, or further from, the satellite position!

      Signal "quality" is adjusted by rotating the LNB slightly.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION