Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Amstrad 790 SkyHD Box

    This is a discussion on Amstrad 790 SkyHD Box within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi Guys, Just tried changing my 320gb HDD to a new Samsung 1TB HDD. Looks like i have Darwin Firmware ...

    1. #1
      nin73's Avatar
      nin73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Amstrad 790 SkyHD Box

      Hi Guys,

      Just tried changing my 320gb HDD to a new Samsung 1TB HDD. Looks like i have Darwin Firmware installed so i cannot format the drive to achieve 1tb.

      Is there a way i can downgrade the firmware so i can get Copy+ to work?

      My other question is will any other model boxes work as i could buy another one off ebay?
      Last edited by nin73; 29-03-12 at 02:49 PM. Reason: typing


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Amstrad 790 SkyHD Box


      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      nin73's Avatar
      nin73 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad 790 SkyHD Box

      I have heard some HDD will not work well, i bought this one. Will it be ok?

      HD103SJ Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB (7200rpm) SATA 32MB Hard Drive (Internal) (2001797708009) | eBay

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Amstrad 790 SkyHD Box

      I've done a little searching for the magic words "suitable for PVR" but couldn't see them.

      From comments elsewhere, I suspect that the Spinpoint range is all suitable for PVRs. If this is the case, then all should be fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION