Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Using my spare Sky HD box.....

    This is a discussion on Using my spare Sky HD box..... within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I had a new Sky HD box fitted last year, so my old Sky HD box is just stored away. ...

    1. #1
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using my spare Sky HD box.....

      I had a new Sky HD box fitted last year, so my old Sky HD box is just stored away.

      I will shortly be getting another television, as we have a growing family and the demand for different tv viewing is growing!

      I was going to use the integrated freeview on the new television, but I was wondering if my old Sky box has a use? Currently, the lead for the television aerial we have only goes to the front of the house, and it will cost 35 to have another lead fitted going from the same aerial to the back of the house.

      Is it an option to plug in the old sky box and just receive Freeview channels on that? If so, how would I connect the old sky box to the satellite dish? I have a quad LNB, with only two of the connections currently being used for the main television.

      I don't want to pay another 10 per month for Sky multiroom, and I'm not bothered about having all of the channels that I can access on my main television.

      Thanks for any help anyone can provide!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Aves's Avatar
      Aves is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVCHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Using my spare Sky HD box.....

      In order to use your old HD box as a Freesat receiver, you would need to run either a single (in single feed mode) or dual coaxial cable from the dish to where you want the box. The spare ports on the LNB will allow you to do this yourself if you're comfortable dealing with it.

      The problem with disabled Sky boxes though is that without a card, or with a card that has been disabled for longer than 6 months, you generally won't receive all the free-to-air channels either. Channel 5 for instance.

      You have the option of obtaining a Freesat card from Sky which will allow you to view all the free-to-air channels, but there is usually a one-off cost of 99 for this. Though that cost can include fitting the appropriate cables and setting the box up for you.

      To be honest with you, unless you can get Sky to give you a card for the free-to-air channels for nothing, or can get one somewhere else it's probably cheaper to get the aerial cable fitted and use the freeview on the TV.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Aves For This Useful Post:

      burnley_lad (09-09-11)

    5. #3
      Steev's Avatar
      Steev is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01270
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Using my spare Sky HD box.....

      [QUOTE=Aves;337491

      You have the option of obtaining a Freesat card from Sky which will allow you to view all the free-to-air channels, but there is usually a one-off cost of 99 for this. Though that cost can include fitting the appropriate cables and setting the box up for you.

      [/QUOTE]

      I got a "Freesat from Sky" card from Sky a few months ago to put into an old Amstrad box and it cost 20.

      Steve

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Steev For This Useful Post:

      burnley_lad (09-09-11)

    7. #4
      Aves's Avatar
      Aves is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVCHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Using my spare Sky HD box.....

      Quote Originally Posted by Steev View Post
      I got a "Freesat from Sky" card from Sky a few months ago to put into an old Amstrad box and it cost 20.

      Steve

      That's about right for just the card. The 99 usually includes an engineer visit to install all the cabling and service the dish as well as the card.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Aves For This Useful Post:

      burnley_lad (09-09-11)

    9. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      31,906
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 1,496 Times in 1,464 Posts

      Re: Using my spare Sky HD box.....

      Be aware too that a freesat card will only allow you to view, you will not be able to use the Sky+ functions. To record/replay etc, you would need a multi room subscription.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider / TCPOptimiser /Test Socket





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      burnley_lad (09-09-11)

    11. #6
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using my spare Sky HD box.....

      thank you for your replies.

    12. #7
      Aves's Avatar
      Aves is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVCHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Using my spare Sky HD box.....

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Be aware too that a freesat card will only allow you to view, you will not be able to use the Sky+ functions. To record/replay etc, you would need a multi room subscription.


      Not necessarily true. You can add the Sky+ subscription to the Freesat card separately for the princely sum of 12.25 a month stand-alone. It is of course cheaper to pay the multi-room at 10.25 a month, but it's not your only option.

    13. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      31,906
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 1,496 Times in 1,464 Posts

      Re: Using my spare Sky HD box.....

      You can add the Sky+ subscription to the Freesat card separately for the princely sum of 12.25
      Now that would be really silly and compared to multi room, not even worth considering.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider / TCPOptimiser /Test Socket





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO