Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    New SkyHD box

    This is a discussion on New SkyHD box within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; "5.1 Dolby Surround Sound via HDMI" Does this mean they will be able to make other boxes do the same ...

    1. #11
      Grumpyduck's Avatar
      Grumpyduck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Worthing
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New SkyHD box

      "5.1 Dolby Surround Sound via HDMI"

      Does this mean they will be able to make other boxes do the same with a software tweak..?

      GD
      Sky Subscriber since 1990
      Amstrad 1TB Box
      Sky Fibre Unlimited



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New SkyHD box

      I suppose it depends whether it is a software tweak or a change in the hardware.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Marino's Avatar
      Marino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New SkyHD box

      Hi folks, I have an amstrad drx 595 which I'm trying to connect wirelessly to a second tv. I'm not the best tech for the job but I know the sky link or sky eye won't work on this system so I bought a Nikkai 5.2GHz and it doesn't seem to be working. Is the amstrad box even compatable?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New SkyHD box

      Check the units are correctly placed and check that the Scart leads are plugged into the correct units. There are separate ones for send and receive.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New SkyHD box

      Quote Originally Posted by Marino View Post
      Hi folks, I have an amstrad drx 595 which I'm trying to connect wirelessly to a second tv. I'm not the best tech for the job but I know the sky link or sky eye won't work on this system so I bought a Nikkai 5.2GHz and it doesn't seem to be working. Is the amstrad box even compatable?
      The instructions for the sender actually state that it is incompatible with the Sky STBs. I did test it with my Sky+ HD STB and it appears to work to some degree, but a little intermittent compared to the magic-eye.

      You will need to place the IR repeater in the correct position on the front of your Sky STB and play around to see if it does work. I don't know where the IR sensor is on your box. Perhaps someone else can help with this information?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      800ster's Avatar
      800ster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New SkyHD box

      Anybody heard any news yet on when (or if as well I guess) this box can be used as a slave playback device over the network to a main Sky+HD box (in a multiroom environment)?

      thanks
      Simon

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New SkyHD box

      Other that the original post back at the beginning of December, I personally haven't heard anything else since.

      Almost everything else in that post has since come true or has been confirmed by Sky. The other outstanding thing that comes to mind is enabling Dolby Surround Sound to be sent through the HDMI leads.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #18
      800ster's Avatar
      800ster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New SkyHD box

      Thanks, did not think I had missed anything, hopefully it will happen.

    10. #19
      lightnight's Avatar
      lightnight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WICKERSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky max
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: New SkyHD box

      I WONDER IF THIS HAS A LOW VOLUME OUTPUT AS WELL

    11. #20
      The Artful Dodger's Avatar
      The Artful Dodger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Ashford, Kent
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New SkyHD box

      Hello, all:

      I am considering replacing my aging (and often failing) Sony DigiBox with one of these Amstradt DRX895 boxes but before I do, I need to find out one crucial piece of information: I have to convert the SCART output (I don't need HD!!) to Composite with a SCART-to-Composite Adapter - my question - can this box be made to put Composite Video and Audio onto the SCART?

      Thanks ever so much in advance.

      The Artful Dodger

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION