Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 60k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

    This is a discussion on Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi all, I have just upgraded to sky+ HD Everything is fine regarding the the tv side. I was told ...

    1. #1
      DeltaUK's Avatar
      DeltaUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      Hi all, I have just upgraded to sky+ HD

      Everything is fine regarding the the tv side.

      I was told I must have the telephone line connected for at least 48hrs

      The problem I have is when the line is connected, my internet goes so slow its unbearable. but when I disconnect it, its back to fast speeds.

      Is it ok to connect it instead by ethernet cable? from my sky router to the ethernet port on the sky box?

      And how do i check if it is working? On the new system software I cant find where to check the telephone line.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      If everything's working OK on your new HD setup and you're getting all subscription channels, there's no real need for the phone line to be connected unless you have Multiroom. I connect the line only when ordering Box Office events, or when I need to go Interactive to check my account.

      The ethernet port on most Sky boxes is disabled and cannot be used. You can check your phone line status by pressing Services>Settings>Signal and the line status in on Page 2/2 .

      If the internet connection is slowing up, check that you are connected properly and also that you are using an ADSL filter on your Sky digibox phone cable where it connects to the phone line with the rest of your gear.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #3
      richard3009's Avatar
      richard3009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      Yes I will second that, it sounds like you are missing the low pass filter on the sky telephone connection, without one my internet grinds to a halt, failing that unplug it from your skybox

    5. #4
      Bexs2247's Avatar
      Bexs2247 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      Hi - I've just had HD put in downstairs and we've got multiroom upstairs. The engineer said you can get some kind of wireless thing to connect the boxes to the phoneline (as we don't have a phone point upstiars) - does anyone know what these are called and where I can get them from!

      I've had multiroom since last October and Sky + for 5 years and have never had them connected to a phone line before and there have never been any problems! Now I'm a bit worried that I should get them connected somehow?!

      Thanks

    6. #5
      PriestyUK's Avatar
      PriestyUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01202
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Bournemouth
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      Quote Originally Posted by Bexs2247 View Post
      Hi - I've just had HD put in downstairs and we've got multiroom upstairs. The engineer said you can get some kind of wireless thing to connect the boxes to the phoneline (as we don't have a phone point upstiars) - does anyone know what these are called and where I can get them from!
      Here you go mate this should do the trick You can get them @ your local maplins store or online:

      DECT Wireless Phone Line Extender : Extension Cables & Kits : Maplin

      Hope this helps

    7. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      I was just going to suggest that. Read the customer reviews, it seems it's OK for Sky Multiroom.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    8. #7
      Bexs2247's Avatar
      Bexs2247 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      HI,

      I've just upgraded to HD and have had my Sky + moved upstairs.

      I've been told both boxes need to be connected to a phone line however, my phone points are in awkward positions and would result in wires trailing across floors etc. The engineer mentioned that it is possible to get someking of wireless thing to do this job - does anyone know what he's talking about and where I can get it from?

      Also, I've had multiroom since last October (ie normal box upstairs and Sky + downstairs) but I never had it connected to a phone line in all that time and have never had any problems. Do I really really need both boxes connected to a phone line?

      Thanks

    9. #8
      Bexs2247's Avatar
      Bexs2247 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      Thanks for your replies!! I've just realised I posted my question twice - oops!! Thank goodness its nearly the weekend!

    10. #9
      parahandy's Avatar
      parahandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01236
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      Sorry to dig up an old thread but it seems the most relevant to my query.

      I need to have an additional phone cable as I'm getting Multiroom, however these wireless phone extenders have the smaller phone socket on the end. All my devices have the fatter plug, including my existing Sky+ box.

      I had found a five-way adapter to replace the four-way one I've got, but again, all the sockets are the smaller type.

    11. #10
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,619
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Help connecting Sky Box to phone line / internet

      All phone plugs are fairly standard. Those extenders should have an adapter to convert it back to the standard wider form and if not just get a cable to convert it.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2012. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO