Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 29

    tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

    This is a discussion on tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Software updates happen automatically on all Sky Digiboxes as and when new versions are launched. These generally happen every few ...

    1. #1
      jasonx1's Avatar
      jasonx1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: virginmedia
      Broadband ISP: virginmedia
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      scunthorpe england
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Wink technical info for your sky hd and sky+ box

      Software updates happen automatically on all Sky Digiboxes as and when new versions are launched. These generally happen every few months to assist with ironing out bugs and adding new services. If you find that you are experiencing repeat problems with your digibox, from failed recordings to loss of sound etc, a 'forced' software update might help. To carry out an update, follow these instructions:

      1) Switch the digibox off at the mains power, so no lights are displayed on the unit

      2) Press and hold the BACK UP button on the digibox (not the remote control)

      3) Whilst holding, switch the digibox back on at the mains power so the red standby light is displayed

      4) Wait approx. 10-20 seconds for the remaining 3 lights to display, at which point you can release the BACK UP button

      5) Allow the digibox to download the latest software, which can take 10 minutes before returning to standby

      6) Leave 60 seconds then power up as usual

      7) turn off tv if its a lcd or plasma as you get screen burn for the update logo .turn tv back on after all lights have turned off


      Sky Digibox Planner Rebuild / Full System Reset
      Applies to Sky+ Digiboxes only

      These two options are only recommended if you are experiencing continual problems on recording programmes, or unusual loss of signal from either of your two satellite feeds. Please note that by carrying out these, you will loose all recordings from within your planner:

      1) Switch your digibox on

      2) In sequence, press on your remote 'SERVICES > 4 > 0 > 1 > SELECT' (this will access the hidden menu)

      3) Select the relevant option (usually the bottom two) and follow the on-screen prompts (note that its likely your digibox will reboot between processes)

      Applies to Sky+HD Digiboxes only, running latest EPG

      1) Press Services on your remote control. ‘Options’ in the Top Menu will be highlighted in orange.

      2) Press the Right arrow once to highlight ‘Settings’ in the Top Menu.

      3) Now press the Down arrow once to highlight the ‘settings’ tab in the Middle Menu.

      4) Press 0, 0,1, Select on your remote in quick succession. The ‘Setup’ tab will then be highlighted within a hidden menu.

      5) Select the relevant option and follow the on-screen prompts (note that its likely your digibox will reboot between processes)


      Sky Digibox Planner Rebuild / Full System Reset (if stuck in standby)
      Applies to Sky+ and Sky+HD Digiboxes only

      Same as above but applies if your digibox is stuck in standby and you cannot get to the hidden menu:

      1) Switch the digibox off at the mains power, so no lights are displayed on the unit

      2) Press and hold the 'right and left arrow' buttons on the digibox (not the remote control)

      3) Whilst holding, switch the digibox back on at the mains power so the red standby light is displayed

      4) Wait approx. 30 seconds for the blue Sky+ ring of lights to display, at which point you can release the 'right and left arrow' buttons

      5) Press 'SELECT' on the digibox (not the remote control)

      6) Now the system will format the hard drive, the blue Sky+ ring of lights should spin backwards

      7) Allow the system to format, which can take 10 minutes before returning to standby

      8) Try to power up!


      Sky Digibox RF Output
      Applies to Sky and Sky+ Digiboxes only

      If you intend to connect your Sky Digibox up to a second television using the RF2 Output, you will need to activate the port to allow use. As default the port is turned off, due to the power is generates, but the process of switching on is very simple, just follow the instructions below:

      1) Switch your digibox on

      2) In sequence, press on your remote 'SERVICES > 4 > 0 > 1 > SELECT' (this will access the hidden menu)

      3) Select the 'RF Outlets' menu

      4) Choose the desired 'RF Channel Number' (this will be the channel you access on your second television)

      5) Turn the 'RF Outlet Power Supply' to ON

      6) Select 'Save New Settings'

      Applies to Sky+HD Digiboxes only

      1) Press Services on your remote control. ‘Options’ in the Top Menu will be highlighted in orange.

      2) Press the Right arrow once to highlight ‘Settings’ in the Top Menu.

      3) Now press the Down arrow once to highlight the ‘settings’ tab in the Middle Menu.

      4) Press 0,0, 1, Select on your remote in quick succession. The ‘Setup’ tab will then be highlighted within a hidden menu.

      5) Press the Right arrow until you reach the 'RF OUT' menu and press 'Select'.

      6) Choose the desired 'RF Channel Number' (this will be the channel you access on your second television)

      7) Turn the 'RF Outlet Power Supply' to ON

      8) Press the Green button to 'Save New Settings'



      Single Cable Mode
      Applies to Sky+HD Digiboxes only

      If you have a Sky+HD Digibox and are using with just a single cable from your satellite dish, you may from time to time come across a message stating "no satellite signal", even when just trying to watch a channel and not record anything. This is because the new software installed by Sky requires you to make a change to your settings to tell the digibox that you are running just a single cable. To make the required change, follow the instructions below:

      1) Press Services on your remote control. ‘Options’ in the Top Menu will be highlighted in orange.

      2) Press the Right arrow once to highlight ‘Settings’ in the Top Menu.

      3) Now press the Down arrow once to highlight the ‘settings’ tab in the Middle Menu.

      4) Press 0,0, 1, Select on your remote in quick succession. The ‘Setup’ tab will then be highlighted within a hidden menu.

      5) Press the Down arrow five times to highlight ‘Single Feed Mode’ at the bottom of the list.

      6) Press the Right arrow once to turn ‘Single Feed Mode’ from ‘OFF’ to ‘ON’. Then press the Green button to ‘Save Settings’.

      anytime tv trick ( you will lose the downloaded channels)

      faster epg and menu trick for sky hd only been tested on pace and samsung only

      go to option find anytime tv and turn off then save ..
      now go to settings tab type 001 select on remote in one quick go
      now select sky planner rebuild then select
      sky hd box will reboot
      wait untill 5min only
      turn on sky hd wait for all listings to load in box
      thats it the menus should be faster now...
      Last edited by jasonx1; 14-05-10 at 03:54 PM. Reason: updated the list to make all clear .anytime trick now inculded

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to jasonx1 For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (28-11-10)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      cobweb's Avatar
      cobweb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Western
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      Quote Originally Posted by jasonx1 View Post
      tips and tricks for sky hd and sky + systems

      hope this makes a sticky postie
      Good idea Jason for everyone to have this info to hand..and not just for noobs! Quailty Post
      ...we're alike as Gladys Knight and Doris Day.


    5. #3
      jasonx1's Avatar
      jasonx1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: virginmedia
      Broadband ISP: virginmedia
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      scunthorpe england
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Lightbulb Re: tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      cheers . i email the admin to make it a sticky to help you all but no luck yet .
      samsung sky hd 973004(upgraded 500gb) also pace sky hd 9F3004. fitted with a 65cm triax solid dish.
      SAMSUNG PS50B450 50" plasma tv.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...d-sky-box.html check this out if our havin probelms

    6. #4
      1200max's Avatar
      1200max is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      Many thanks. I think I will be using this very soon.

    7. #5
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 5
      Sky TV: SkyHD/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      663
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      Also if your box is stuck in standby do a front panel reset and it brings the box back to life.

      Regards
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    8. #6
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      also in the samsung boxes there is a 'MANUAL RESET' button, which i am told is lie the software setup, but coud be for a total reset?

    9. #7
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 5
      Sky TV: SkyHD/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      663
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      Say that again?


      Quote Originally Posted by skypaulusplus View Post
      also in the samsung boxes there is a 'MANUAL RESET' button, which i am told is lie the software setup, but coud be for a total reset?
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    10. #8
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      inside the samsung hd box, there is a snall button named MANUAL RESET.
      im told this does the same as the reset on/off, when you press it while the box is switched on. like what a buton like it does on a router. but im unsure if it will wipe the software off it if you power it on while holding the button

    11. #9
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 5
      Sky TV: SkyHD/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      663
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      Ummm thats a new one on me.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    12. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is online now Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,157
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      Quote Originally Posted by The Insider View Post
      Ummm thats a new one on me.
      Lol, maybe needs a disclaimer adding to his post.


     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 15-08-13, 01:58 AM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO