Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    SkyHD Box Ports

    This is a discussion on SkyHD Box Ports within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I noticed that my SkyHD box has a USB, SATA and an Ethernet port on the back. Does anyone know ...

    1. #1
      SaladDodger's Avatar
      SaladDodger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SkyHD Box Ports

      I noticed that my SkyHD box has a USB, SATA and an Ethernet port on the back. Does anyone know how to use these or if they are even usable?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5,702
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 77 Times in 70 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      the usb will charge your ipod, but thats about it.

      they are there for future use (if and when sky decided).

    4. #3
      SaladDodger's Avatar
      SaladDodger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      Shame, I was hoping to be able to plug in a bigger external drive.

    5. #4
      antwigan's Avatar
      antwigan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRLFC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Gods Country WIGAN
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      Ethernet for firmware updates


      They'll never change us. God help those who try.

      Rugby League, never Rugby Union. Fight the Bigots.

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5,702
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 77 Times in 70 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      really? - so how do they do FW updates on other sky boxes or how do they update the FW for people without BB or have a USB ADSL Modem?

      Nope, FW is done over the air like the EPG updates.

      The ethernet has no current use... the long term intention is that the box is connected to your router via the ethernet to enanle Video on Demand (Vod) and other such like services (unconfirmed).

      At least thats my understanding.

    7. #6
      Placehold's Avatar
      Placehold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      The Ports can be found on PVR3 Sky+ boxs and the HD Box, These are for future use but if you replace the hard drive then you can eneable the ports for use, I have mine enabled so i can watch a film from a USB Flashdrive.

      No software required as once the hard drive is installed, i performed a new installation,waited 10 minutes and i was up and running

      Regards




      P

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5,702
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 77 Times in 70 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      that's interesting, so you are saying:

      - with orig HD, the sata and USB are disabled (apart from usb power to say an ipod)
      - replace HD with ANY new HD and then the USB and SATA become enabled (without any action) and you can plug in a HD full of sky recordings and the EPG recognises ALL items from BOTH internal and external HD?

      Can you just confirm that please?

    9. #8
      Placehold's Avatar
      Placehold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      - with orig HD, the sata and USB are disabled (apart from usb power to say an ipod) Correct

      - replace HD with ANY new HD and then the USB and SATA become enabled (without any action) and you can plug in a HD full of sky recordings and the EPG recognises ALL items from BOTH internal and external HD? Correct if you know what your doing and have experience

      I would not recommend any user however to think it was simple enough for everyone to do. I formatted the drive and partitioned it into 3 equal segmants,one for the main software, EPG etc, one for the storage and the other as there is always new features being downloaded. The HD Drives are capped at the moment to just under half the capacity

      Regards




      P

    10. #9
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5,702
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 77 Times in 70 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      Quote Originally Posted by Placehold;146278[B
      Correct if you know what your doing and have experience[/B]
      P
      Can you share with us what these things are as i'm sure there are plenty of people on this forum that are more than competent at achieving this extra 'flexible' capacity (especially with HD).

      Replacing a HD in the box is a piece of cake..... but what else is needed?

    11. #10
      Placehold's Avatar
      Placehold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      Ok
      I hooked it up to my PC, used a partition manager after formatting the hard drive to seperate it into three equal portions, not that hard

      Now you can hook the external drive up and use the copy function to firstly transfer all your movies and programmes over,then open the lib on the HD box,
      Its like cracking a stone open, make sure you DO NOT break any of the lug nuts

      Its adviseable to leave a jumper in place as this will slow the transfer rate down and stop crashes from occuring, should be anywhere between 125 - 160Mbytes/second.

      To keep it firm, i applied a thin layer of rubber adhesive to the bottom, then replaced the old drive with the new one. If you have ever replaced a hard drive in a pc, its exactly the same
      2Port SATA150 PCI Card, 2 SATA POWER CONV 4P TO 15P, Akasa SATA-45 cable ...etc

      Once you have installed it the same way the old one came out, screw it all together and perform a full system reset

      Press and hold the lft and right arrow keys on the top front of your HD box while disconnecting and reconnecting the power. The front of the box will light up and the center circle will start to spin, Let go of the arrow buttons and leave for 10 minuts,

      Switch it on and there you go

      Regards




      P

      P.S I should also mention it was a 750GB hard drive i used
      Last edited by Placehold; 06-05-08 at 07:54 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO