Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Sky HD ethernet port?

    This is a discussion on Sky HD ethernet port? within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Does anyone know what the ethernet (LAN) port can be used for on the sky HD box? I've looked through ...

    1. #1
      CraggyUK's Avatar
      CraggyUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky HD ethernet port?

      Does anyone know what the ethernet (LAN) port can be used for on the sky HD box? I've looked through the provided manual and nothing, I'm sure there must be some use for this!!!!!
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,205
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 371 Times in 302 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky HD ethernet port?

      I am pretty sure in the not too distant future, you will be able to attach your HD box to your Sky router. This will enable a storage space for VOD (Video on Demand)


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      CraggyUK's Avatar
      CraggyUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD ethernet port?

      Does that mean currently it does nothing? Is it worth connecting up and trying to access it?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,205
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 371 Times in 302 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky HD ethernet port?

      Don't think it will work at the moment.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      tapzilla2k's Avatar
      tapzilla2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oxford SMOF
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD ethernet port?

      It'll probably be switched off in the current Sky HD software.

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky HD ethernet port?

      Sky Anytime on the HD boxes has already started hasnt it?

    8. #7
      tapzilla2k's Avatar
      tapzilla2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oxford SMOF
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD ethernet port?

      Yep it's started for most people with Sky HD boxes. However there a few teething problems, nothing major though. The content is good (no ad breaks or channel logos), but to be honest it seems like a stop gap measure before Sky launch an IPTV service (which is what the ethernet port is probably for).

    9. #8
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky HD ethernet port?

      We had a senior Sky engineer round to replace our dodgy Sky+ box and he said that the ethernet port was being activated late this year early next year on HD boxes.

      He then went into his sales pitch on how great HD is going to be with all the new stuff sky is bringing out this year.

    10. #9
      izzyinn's Avatar
      izzyinn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD ethernet port?

      On 30 July 2009, Sky confirmed the launch of a ‘pull’ video-on-demand (VOD) service for 2010, adding to the current Sky Anytime ‘push’ VOD service. [7] The service, delivered by broadband internet, will utilise the Ethernet port of existing Sky+ HD boxes. No further details were given, and it is not yet known whether the service will be available to customers of any broadband provider, or restricted only to those who take Sky's own broadband service. Although the service may be similar to DirecTV's VOD offering that also uses a operating system built by NDS. Direct tv also has a Sky Anytime like push VOD service as well that show up as downloaded in the VOD menus.

    11. #10
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5,712
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 78 Times in 71 Posts

      Re: Sky HD ethernet port?

      izzyinn - old news (almost 6 months!).

      Check out the VOD trials thread Sky VOD Final Trials Soon

      And the Sky news and annoucements section of the site Sky news and announcements

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO