Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Not connected to the internet

    This is a discussion on Not connected to the internet within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have downloaded sky anytime and it now sits on my desk top but when I double click the icon ...

    1. #1
      chriscalverley's Avatar
      chriscalverley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01332
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not connected to the internet

      I have downloaded sky anytime and it now sits on my desk top but when I double click the icon I get a message saying I am not connected to the internet. I know I am connected but do not know how to change the settings to cure the problem . Can anyone help??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I have removed your duplicate post, please use one thread per issue.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      iamtheonlyjim's Avatar
      iamtheonlyjim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not connected to the internet

      Hi Chris (Dad?)

      As far as I can tell the icon on the desktop is just a shortcut that opens your internet browser, if is is telling you you are off line it could be because you previously told your browser not to connet via dialup etc. Your browser would then switch to "offline mode", you can change this in Internet Explorer using the File menu, Work Offline option, just click it if there is a tick next to it and your problem should be solved.

      Jim.

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Not connected to the internet

      Or it could be the a firwall blocking access?

    6. #5
      SiJa's Avatar
      SiJa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not connected to the internet

      I'm having this exact same problem dont really know what to do

    7. #6
      acornresearch901's Avatar
      acornresearch901 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not connected to the internet

      had that problem, it was the firewall, i just turned off the phishing filter and it worked fine

    8. #7
      hansPeter's Avatar
      hansPeter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not connected to the internet

      SiJa, have you had any luck to get the connection working?
      I have the same problem, tried already to switch firewall off etc.
      I'm running Vista, could it be that?

      Thanks for any help.

    9. #8
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Not connected to the internet

      Check that you are still connected to your internet or broadband connection. Test this by trying another website, such as Sky.com - Home. Next, try the following websites, which are required to use Sky Anytime on PC:

      Try Movies (you should see a white page full of code)
      Try https://bbv.sky.com/svodservice/services/SVODService (you should see a white page which begins with 'Axis HTTP Servlet - Hi, you have reached the AXIS HTTP Servlet')
      If these sites do not display correctly, then please contact your ISP to check why these addresses are not available to you.

      If you can see both these sites then you should check the configuration of your firewall, as this may be blocking access to Sky Anytime on PC, KService and KHost, which are all required to connect to Sky Anytime on PC.
      From Frequently asked questions - Sky Anytime on PC under logging in.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    10. #9
      hansPeter's Avatar
      hansPeter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not connected to the internet

      Hi LNB,

      Thanks for the tips/test.
      I tried both of the links and yes I can connect to those and get the response you describe.
      I also disabled my personal firewall and changed my router settings (DMZ) - still no luck....
      Still get:
      'Sky Anytime requires an active internet connection the very first time it is run...'

      I'm open to suggestions!!

      Thanks.

    11. #10
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Not connected to the internet

      Are KHost and KService both listed as running processes on your PC?

      Ctrl + Alt + Del keys at the same time, check under processes tab.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION