Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    New SKY GO Desktop app

    This is a discussion on New SKY GO Desktop app within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Playing live TV is slightly "jerky". Previously used Sky Go on IE and then an IE Tab on Chrome browser ...

    1. #1
      HamMan's Avatar
      HamMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fareham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Gosport, Hampshire, UK
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New SKY GO Desktop app

      Playing live TV is slightly "jerky". Previously used Sky Go on IE and then an IE Tab on Chrome browser and video was perfect.
      Using Windows 10 on a Toshiba Satellite and also Dell 3010 with an added graphics card. On Sky Fibre unlimited with 30 to 40 megs download.
      Has anyone any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      5amp's Avatar
      5amp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      near bury lancs
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New SKY GO Desktop app

      Hi I am having same problem unable to get picture sound only for a bit not used sky go for long time at home. I phoned sky up spoke to a lady she told me log off and shut down when turned pc back on I lost all my data favourites home page etc I had to do a restore lucky I got it back but no sky go told her I was on windows7 IE 11 its a old pc. I got my pc at work and that was working up to 2 weeks ago on the old sky go I will try next week in work.Sky said there problems with old pc they don't use Silverlight any more they use video guard with app that could be the problem.

    4. #3
      5amp's Avatar
      5amp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      near bury lancs
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New SKY GO Desktop app

      Hi have you got access to the old version of sky go if not try and use a different account on your devices ie a family member when I went on my wife account I got the old version.

    5. #4
      morgee's Avatar
      morgee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Silver Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Burnham, Slough.
      Posts
      186
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New SKY GO Desktop app

      The issue with using Sky Go on a Windows PC is Silverlight. Silverlight was required but all browsers are binning support for it hence the problems. Sky have released a new version. That news however isn't good because the new version is a pile of poop with many failings. See the discussions on Sky support.

    6. #5
      JSWolf's Avatar
      JSWolf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2018
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New SKY GO Desktop app

      How is the new Sky Go desktop program for WIndows at playing back downloaded recordings?

    7. #6
      HamMan's Avatar
      HamMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fareham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Gosport, Hampshire, UK
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New SKY GO Desktop app

      I haven't tried it yet.

    8. #7
      JSWolf's Avatar
      JSWolf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2018
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New SKY GO Desktop app

      Quote Originally Posted by HamMan View Post
      I haven't tried it yet.
      Please try downloads and report back how they work. Thanks.

    9. #8
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,011
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 186 Times in 177 Posts

      Re: New SKY GO Desktop app

      Quote Originally Posted by JSWolf View Post
      Please try downloads and report back how they work. Thanks.
      All on demand and downloaded content works fine. What exactly is it that you need to know about it?

      Depending on which device you use, some do use a high cpu when using the app and live TV can become poor at times.
      Odd thing is its not dependent on the processing power of the pc/laptop.
      My Linx 1010b has always run fine with the new app and did so when I used it in the Sky trials for this app. Have no problems with it at all and runs smoothly.
      But a couple of i5 and i7 laptops I have and a high spec AMD desktop run poorly 'jerky', with very high cpu, while others of a similar or high spec do not.

      Do make sure if you have a 64bit machine like the Linx running the 32 bit version of W10, like many of these tablets do that you need to rename the d3dcompiler_47.dll to d3dcompiler_47.dllold located in;
      c:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Sky\Sky Go\
      If you do not you will get a black screen on app startup.

    10. #9
      morgee's Avatar
      morgee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Silver Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Burnham, Slough.
      Posts
      186
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New SKY GO Desktop app

      I have a 64bit win10 machine running windows defender and the app is absolutely appalling. Have installed and uninstalled so many times, deleted all Sky Go, Cisco, Silverlight et al to the point of distraction. I've now given up and finally uninstalled until such time as Sky announce that it is finally properly fixed.

    11. #10
      5amp's Avatar
      5amp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      near bury lancs
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New SKY GO Desktop app

      Hi When I go on catch up I get the adverts but when the program starts I just get sound for a bit it gets distorted and stop no picture. I am on windows7 IE11 on a pc. Also I checked Cisco video guard program is only 96.9 mb compared to 137mb on windows10 same version the sky go app same version and mb. I have Adobe flash player installed and Silverlight.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION