Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Setting up Thunderbird for Yahoo POP3 mail

    This is a discussion on Setting up Thunderbird for Yahoo POP3 mail within the Sky Email and Portal Log-in forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just had Sky broadband activated. Internet conection seems good and quick Now find I cannot receive e-mails from my yahoo.co.uk ...

    1. #1
      p-green's Avatar
      p-green is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford (Lwash)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Setting up Thunderbird for Yahoo POP3 mail

      Just had Sky broadband activated. Internet conection seems good and quick Now find I cannot receive e-mails from my yahoo.co.uk account using the previous Thunderbird settings (which worked with Metronet ISP). Seem to be able to send e-mails though. Can anyone suggest how to correct this ? (I do not want nor intend to use the POP3/SMTP Sky account but just to continue using yahoo.co.uk account).

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
      Can you not change the settings you had for Metronet over to the Sky ones ?

    4. #3
      p-green's Avatar
      p-green is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford (Lwash)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Setting up Thunderbird e-mail

      Metronet did not feature in my Thunderbird settings as I was using a Pop3 Yahoo e-mail account. "Sky settings" also do not apply. The change to Sky broadband has done something to prevent receiving e-mails. Thinking about it a bit more I suspect it could be the port used by Thunderbird for e-mails is blocked by the router by default but I cannot seem to open it (can't seem to access the router confiduration settings.

    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
      Well I am using Thunderbird and no ports that it uses are being blocked by my router and I haven't touched anything to do with ports in the routers configurations.

    6. #5
      p-green's Avatar
      p-green is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford (Lwash)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I have now got into the Netgear Router config. settings (u/name - admin; p/word - sky). Have added a firewall rule for incoming Pop3 servicebut still no luck. (I am surprised Alan did not have to set this up as all incoming services are claimed to be blocked by default).

      It seems too much of a coincidence that I cannot receive e-mails via Thunderbird since the Sky router was installed.

      Thanks for replying, anyway.

    7. #6
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
      No inbound services were blocked with my router as I had no issues with mail or anything.

    8. #7
      fixer2035's Avatar
      fixer2035 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I dont know about Yahoo.co.uk as I dont use it but I use Thunderbird and all my non sky email account worked without touching anything, soz not much help but just to confirm nothing to do on the router.
      I have sold my sold soul and joined SkyBroadband

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION