Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted

    This is a discussion on FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted within the Sky & DLM forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, Newb here, go easy Apologies if I have misunderstood or plain missed an answer on this already posted. ...

    1. #1
      batch_2001's Avatar
      batch_2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted

      Hi All,

      Newb here, go easy Apologies if I have misunderstood or plain missed an answer on this already posted.

      I have just switched to Sky FTTC unlimited 38/10, SR102 modem.

      To cut a long story short, my line was switched at 10 am this morning. I have 9Mbps downlink sych, 2Mbps uplink. I was predicted 40 down, with BT wholesale reckoning somewhere in the late 60's (though I guess I'd be capped to 40).

      I do however have my router on a 10m extension cable, plugged (via BT plug) into the faceplate of the master socket. The cable should be CW1308. All phones (the only phone!) is filtered.

      As I understand it DLM will not increase the synch speed over time.
      ----------
      Q. Should I plug the router directly into the master socket behind faceplate ASAP, during this DLM period? Or will that cause even more speed penalty?

      The reason for the extension wire was that there are no electrcity plug sockets that near the master
      ----------
      I can post the "before" and "after" stats, once I establish it is safe to move it (and when I get home from work).

      Thanks in advance,

      Batch_2001.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,640
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted

      The router cable should go into the modem.
      The modem plugs into the faceplate.

      I don't understand why you have the router cable going to the faceplate unless something has changed since I had sky fibre.

    4. #3
      batch_2001's Avatar
      batch_2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted

      Thanks for the reply. Sorry, I was probably slightly ambiguous.

      I have the SR102, the combined modem/router used for FTTC (self install). It plugs straight in to the filter. The filter into (preferably) the BT master socket (normal BT plug).

      I have a master socket by the front door. There are no power sockets there. I ran an extension cable from the master to a more suitable location. The extension is not wired into the master socket faceplate, it has a BT plug on it. This setup worked fine for ADSL2+.

      In any case I just want to make sure I won't bugger up the DLM by moving the modem/router directly to the master socket (which means I have to turn it off for a minute or so).

    5. #4
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,640
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted

      My understanding that DLM is a permanent feature with fibre and not just a 10 day event or whatever it is with ADSL.

    6. #5
      batch_2001's Avatar
      batch_2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      My understanding that DLM is a permanent feature with fibre and not just a 10 day event or whatever it is with ADSL.
      OK, thanks. We'll see. Something isn't right (probably my understanding)

      Stats before moving... 0db attenuation uplink and low margin..??!

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9177 kbps 2028 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24.6 dB 0.0 dB
      Noise Margin 32.4 dB 8.8 dB

    7. #6
      batch_2001's Avatar
      batch_2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted

      Hmmm, admittedly early days but after the move to the master socket.

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 39994 kbps 10000 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.7 dB 0.0 dB
      Noise Margin 16.3 dB 16.16 dB




      Think I'll leave off playing with the internal wiring until after dlm....

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,070
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted

      I would highly recommend that you get yourself a VDSL faceplate. These were supplied with the installation until recently, but now all the main ISPs are moving to 'self-install.

      GENUINE BT NTE5 vDSL Filtered Faceplate|Openreach&#8482 Branded

      You need to ensure that you have the NTE5 socket though to use this.


      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      batch_2001's Avatar
      batch_2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: FTTC - just switched FTTC - low synch . DLM day 1, 9Mbps acheived, 40Mbps predicted

      Thanks for the advice, will look at it.

    10. #9
      batch_2001's Avatar
      batch_2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just to report back and say thanks. I thought about scubbie's advice and how it makes sense to split the router and phone extension via a faceplate. That way I can cable my desktop/ps3. Just need to drill a hole in the wall.

      So to cut it short, I got the VDSL faceplate v2, a 5m cat 5e cable for the modem/router and it works great.


      DL attended 15 dl, margin 17db
      Ul margin 18.18 dB
      I continue to get the full 40/10.

      One oddity which had always happened, even when we had adsl 2+, is when the phone is in use the margin drops 1db. But I'm not loosing sleep.

      Almost tempted with fibre pro. But would I really use the extra speed.. Probably not unless comparing speed test results

      Thanks again for taking the time to reply/advise me..

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION