Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router

    This is a discussion on Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router within the Sky & DLM forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well, all done now. It just goes to show what lines really are capable of with the right setup. First ...

    1. #1
      HDCheapskate's Avatar
      HDCheapskate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWEXTR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router

      Well, all done now. It just goes to show what lines really are capable of with the right setup. First connection - 4096K.

      After tweaking:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18553 kbps 1150 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 13.7 db
      Noise Margin 2.9 db 8.8 db




      Cool


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      HDCheapskate's Avatar
      HDCheapskate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWEXTR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router

      Wait... Wait...


    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router

      This and your other thread reminds me that Sky used to stop DLM running on new connections, but the least provocation, ie a bit of instablity, would kick it off. Do be careful it does not happen to your line.

    5. #4
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 6 (BT Smart HUB)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      316
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router

      Use, Mybroadbandspeed or sky user's speed tester for a more accurate reading, I find MyBroadbandSpeed pretty good

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router

      Honestly don't take this wrong way, but you do like to gloat don't you?

      I do hope for CST's sake it doesn't go belly up stability-wise...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      HDCheapskate's Avatar
      HDCheapskate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWEXTR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router

      Sorry, I didn't mean to gloat. I just wanted to demonstrate what is possible when you put the right settings on one end of the line, and the right equiptment on the other end of the line.

      I have the utmost respect for Sky and their system, however I also believe that fellow members may benefit from seeing what is possible if certain tweaks are put in place.

      I would imagine things will be stable, as prior to being with Virgin (eurgh) this line was totally stable with Be Unlimited on a 3dB FastPath profile. Now that the router's got a 3dB margin on a Interleaved profile it should be even more stable... but I'll keep an eye on it just to be sure.

      As regards to acurrate throughput, the speedtest from speedtest.net seems to be bang on, I downloaded Service Pack 3 from Microsoft to test it out and was getting around 2,030Kbyte/sec (just a few KB/sec more and it would be a perfect 2MB a sec. Close enough).

      Thanks for the input, brian69. I hope DLM doesn't kick back in, too. The router won't be switched off or rebooted again now; so shouldn't go belly up but if it does I have confidence in CST to help me like they did today.

      So, all is good. I'm happy with the service from Sky, happy with my tweaks, and happy to share my results with those that are interested to see the difference between a default setup and a "potential" (tweaked) setup

      EDIT: I've cloned the MAC of my Sky router into my DGND3300 which should make it harder for Sky to see that I'm not using their router, but if all turns sour, I'll take it in my stride and accept what I'm dealt. At the end of they day, if I have to move the line back to BT and Internet back to Be*; Sky will have, if nothing else, saved me 129.99 connection fee.

    8. #7
      HDCheapskate's Avatar
      HDCheapskate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWEXTR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router

      Quote Originally Posted by SOF006 View Post
      Use, Mybroadbandspeed or sky user's speed tester for a more accurate reading, I find MyBroadbandSpeed pretty good


      Awesome.

    9. #8
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 6 (BT Smart HUB)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      316
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Gone Live - Results after DLM disabled & New Router

      Quote Originally Posted by HDCheapskate View Post


      Awesome.
      No problem

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION