Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 58

    Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

    This is a discussion on Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats? within the Sky & DLM forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Are these okay stats, he said i should support 12mb, but cudnt see why i wasn't getting it. from the ...

    1. #1
      leecopp10's Avatar
      leecopp10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      Are these okay stats, he said i should support 12mb, but cudnt see why i wasn't getting it.

      from the previous stats which were :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3068 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 12 db

      i now have :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5888 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 11 db

      is this alrite?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      Quote Originally Posted by leecopp10 View Post
      Are these okay stats, he said i should support 12mb, but cudnt see why i wasn't getting it.

      from the previous stats which were :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3068 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 12 db

      i now have :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5888 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 11 db

      is this alrite?
      It looks like the gain in sync is due to a reduction in your Snr margin. Down from 15db to 7db. The possible problem there is that with a SNR of 7db could cause drop outs into the evening.
      If they said your line could support 12mb, but they can't see why your not getting that begs the question, So what are they going to do about it?
      On the other hand it could be due to your wire set-up at home?
      So many factors can effect these things.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      how long since DLM finished (if it had finished - if not then the agent who manually changed you will get a talking to)...

      regarding speeds - without putting your router in the test socket (if not already) we can't see if it's a line issue or something in our house...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      leecopp10's Avatar
      leecopp10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      my set up at home is the sky router plugged into the test socket, with the main phone plugged in to it as well, both into a filter. its the only socket in the house, so i do think the setup in my house if fine, it just seems that for 3000kbps, to have a 7db drop in noise margin is a big leep, i mite be wrong, but i have seen other peoples stats and they go from 2mb to 9mb with just 3 or 4db diffrence.

      is there any other ideas how i can increase the noise margin, i did the line test on the phone and listening to cracks, and all i heard was the faint hisss sound that people mention.

      any help would be appreciated thanks.

      o and dlm had finnished he told me.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      A rough calculation of NM v speed is a 3-400kbps increase in speed for each 1 db decrease in the margin. Your decrease of 8dbs gave you an increase of about 2800, which is spot on. I have never seen an increase of 7Mb with a decrease of 3 or 4, it would be very unusual.

      If your internal wiring is OK and your line is quiet, try changing the filter. If you have Sky+ box, remove the modem cable and plug it into your router, then directly into the Test socket. An increase in noise margin or speed will indicate your filters are dodgy.

      Other than this, all you can do is try another router on the of chance that the router itself is faulty.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      leecopp10's Avatar
      leecopp10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      tryed 3 diffrent filters all the same, i do have a belkin adsl2+ router and a old netgear, ill try and use one of them see if any good results show.

    8. #7
      leecopp10's Avatar
      leecopp10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      Hi, after couple of days, i also tryed diffrent routers no change, orderd a faceplate from adsl nation should come tuesday. anyway

      ive noticed tonight that my noise margin is going up and down every ten seconds

      time 5.16:32 am

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5920 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db

      time 5.17:02

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5920 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 5 db 12 db

      time 5.17:22

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5920 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 2 db 12 db

      time 5.17:42

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5920 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 12 db

      and then back to 7db at 5.18:05

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5920 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db

      it's been doing this all night, any suggestions?

    9. #8
      leecopp10's Avatar
      leecopp10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      Here are some picture from my main socket, you may see something wrong









      Also i have a adsl nation faceplate coming, what wires would i need to use.

      quick stat check

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5978 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db

      as you can see my line atten has gone to 38

      why?
      thanks

    10. #9
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      leecopp10
      Hi here something you might like to read hope it is useful
      Just seen the Photos someone in the morning will be able to explain better than I can
      what I can see is the wire on the bottom of the wall socket looks like an extension are you quite sure that is the only socket
      Last edited by steve16751; 21-06-09 at 03:43 AM.

    11. #10
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finaly got sky to manually config, are these okay stats?

      Ok Photos show the following from what I can see:

      The 2 screw terminals with the Blue /white ad White /blue wire are terminals 'A' and 'B' these are where the BT incoming line connects.

      The IDC block below (which is for hard wired extension) looks very strange in as much as the wires have what looks like a blob connecting the an extend wire?
      It looks like the solid blue and the added orange white are connected to IDC 2 and 5
      but difficult to see. This would be normal for an extension. with out the added blob bit and wire extension. I don't know that that is about to be honest.
      So you have an extension somewhere.

     

     
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION