Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    After DLM

    This is a discussion on After DLM within the Sky & DLM forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Firstly thanks to this site with the info about DLM , strange Sky couldn't let its customers know what ...

    1. #1
      LC80's Avatar
      LC80 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      After DLM

      Hello,

      Firstly thanks to this site with the info about DLM, strange Sky couldn't let its customers know what was/is going on.

      My DLM started on the 25th June and finished on the 10th July. Now before DLM, my speed was a fantastic and steady 3MB, I live in a black hole so 3MB is stunningly fast for me.

      Anyway, now that DLM has finished the speed has now been limited to, 760 kbps.... woooo! Back to me black hole.

      I'm not sure what speed I should be getting with these stats, but the noise margin has jumped from 7.6 to 17.6?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 576 kbps 320 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 30.0 db
      Noise Margin 17.6 db 14.0 db

      Any help on what speeds I could get would be very helpful.

      Thanks

      LC


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: After DLM

      An attenuation of 50db with a relatively quiet line, will, on G.DMT, support ~5750kbps downstream sync.

      You may find the first sticky in my signature useful background reading. I'd also recommend looking through the cabling and faceplate help forum.

    4. #3
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      565
      Thanks
      58
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: After DLM

      The noise margin has gone up, because your connection speed has gone down. The closer you get to your maximum possible speed, the lower that number goes. If the noise margin goes below around 6, then you're likely to get disconnected. Bearing in mind the noise margin will generally fluctuate a little on any line during the course of any 24 hour period, you really want probably close to what you were getting prior to DLM, ie, the 7.4 ish.

    5. #4
      pete_l's Avatar
      pete_l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      S.E. England
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After DLM

      This is similar to my experience, though the numbers were different. I dropped sky a polite little email asking for my old speed back and they complied. Since then, my speed has risen a little more, too.
      If I remember my signaling theory correctly, a 6dB drop in SNR results in a halving of data rate for the same error-rate. So it looks like you could get 4* your current speed and still retain a 6dB margin. Those numbers worked for me and it looks like they'd work for you, too.

    6. #5
      LC80's Avatar
      LC80 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After DLM

      Thanks for the replies, all this noise stuff is still going over my head.

      Sky have upped my speed, but it is slower than before they DLM'd me.

      My latest fixed stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2112 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 13.0 db

      Are these about right?

      LC

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: After DLM

      Quote Originally Posted by LC80 View Post

      Are these about right?
      Yes and no.

      Yes in that your connection appears uncapped and your router has successfully synced at/around the default noise margin.

      No in that your sync is low for your attenuation i.e. you have a noisy line. As I said before, I'd advise looking at the cabling and faceplate help forum to see what can be done to improve things.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: After DLM

      If your line has gone through the DLM testing period and has completed, it has probably left you on ADSL2+. With some lines this would give an increase in speed but in many, with a high attenuation, it just does not give the best result. You should phone support and report very low speed, you may have to go through the 'script' to get through to CST who will be able to put you back on to G.DMT which will put your speed back where it was before.

      Before phoning Sky, plug your router into the Test socket or Master socket if you don't have one. Sky support will probably ask you to do this, so it saves disconnecting and having to phone back.

      This is directed at the OP

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION