Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 66 1231151 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 651

    Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

    This is a discussion on Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines within the Sky & DLM forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Unofficial Sky are getting ready to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines. This is to ...

    1. #1
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      Unofficial

      Sky are getting ready to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines. This is to reprofile them to get them working to the best capability. For many this will be good news. For some it will mean a speed decrease if the line is misconfigured. The process is going to be automatic and will continue across the entire network eventually.

      Another issue, not associated with that at all, is a problem at the hands of BT Openreach and Wholesale that affects not only Sky but other ISPs also. What it amounst to is that a new ADSL service is delivered on BT Connect using their IPStream Home 200 service which is capped at 256Kbps. It is due to a problem where a new BT line is being provisioned with ADSL and Openreach + Wholesale do not have all the line details, so BTW "suggest" the Home 200 service which automated systems, like Sky's, accept and order against. Sky then have to upgrade the customer to Mid or Max which takes a while and costs Sky. Eventually the BTO and BTW systems get into sync and would allow a original ADSL order at whatever speed the line is capable of.

      A test of this is for the customer to check their line against anyone's ADSL checker and if it says something like " you line can only operate at 256Kbps..." then regardless of what they order from Sky it is 256Kbps that they'll get. But Sky will normally capture that fact and upgrade the customer automatically subsequently.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ashleyrunt's Avatar
      ashleyrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northampton/WFAVEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      Will we know when this has happen to our line ?
      If it ain`t broke .... Kick the hell outta it till it is

      Get a free Giffgaff Sim

    4. #3
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,200
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 57 Times in 53 Posts

      Re: Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      I wonder if this is why I had connection issues on Monday evening. This has started already has it ?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      Hi Alan and Ashley, absolutely no idea. The info above is absolutely everything we received tonight, apart from the additional text that accompanied it, informing us.

      Whether or not this has already started or not, I am not too sure, but thinking about it, some of the threads on SkyUser over the last few days, could well mean that it has already started.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 24-04-08 at 12:02 AM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      when i first read the thread, i did think it might explain why so many connect customers seem to have rubish throughput, but reading over it again i now see it as new customers and i think it may be coincidence

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      Just to confirm, unofficially, this has not started yet.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Yak's Avatar
      Yak
      Yak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Unofficial


      A test of this is for the customer to check their line against anyone's ADSL checker and if it says something like " you line can only operate at 256Kbps..." then regardless of what they order from Sky it is 256Kbps that they'll get. But Sky will normally capture that fact and upgrade the customer automatically subsequently.
      Links to some good adsl checkers might be useful for some members.
      (me included)
      I used Samknows Broadband - Comprehensive Broadband Information when I checked my line. Nildram used to have one too, but you now have to go through the ordering process to get too it (i.e. tis a bit convoluted)

      Also (just checked 'samknows') you can't get a result if there is a service already on your line.

      Cheers
      Last edited by Yak; 24-04-08 at 09:12 AM. Reason: Added links I use

    9. #8
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      I got a little confused while reading the thread. This re-profiling is ONLY for people who are connected on the Sky Connect Package, in other words connected to BT's Equipment and not people who are on LLU with sky, so have either the Base, Mid or Max Package right? I far as I know the LLU service does not use BRAS profiles or are they looking at all the lines to change caps and settings for the lines?

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      Just to clarify, the reprofiling is for Sky's own LLU kit only.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      Sc00by22's Avatar
      Sc00by22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky to perform a spot of ADSL line management on some 300,000 lines

      Sky already have reconfigured my line last month, It was having some serious problems with drop outs and they fixed it all up, Hopefully this doesn't mess it up again

     

     
    Page 1 of 66 1231151 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 21-06-08, 10:56 AM
    2. 21-06-08, 09:08 AM
    3. 17-06-08, 06:47 AM
    4. 16-06-08, 10:08 PM
    5. 16-06-08, 09:48 PM
    6. 16-06-08, 09:43 PM
    7. 11-06-08, 11:50 AM
    8. 09-06-08, 11:23 AM
    9. 09-06-08, 07:14 AM
    10. 07-06-08, 03:52 PM
    11. 06-06-08, 10:21 PM
    12. 03-05-08, 12:31 AM
    13. 02-05-08, 07:44 PM
    14. 02-05-08, 07:44 PM
    15. 02-05-08, 02:47 PM
    16. 02-05-08, 06:52 AM
    17. 01-05-08, 04:28 AM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION