Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sky on demand not working since the update

    This is a discussion on Sky on demand not working since the update within the Sky On Demand forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Good afternoon all, My machine recently updated itself and ever since I have no access to any of on demand ...

    1. #1
      Gamerlyn's Avatar
      Gamerlyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky on demand not working since the update

      Good afternoon all,

      My machine recently updated itself and ever since I have no access to any of on demand services. When my box starts up I get a blue message that says 'Your Sky box is not connected to the broadband router'.

      When I go into the network settings on the box, it is connected fine to my network but the top 2 boxes about on demand just say fail. The sky box is connected wirelessly using a Sky wireless box and the network itself is faultless. The cable between the sky wireless box and the TV box is fine and i have tried a new cable and nothing changes.

      I have spoken to Sky technical support and done a manual update of the box and rebuilt the planner. Neither of which has helped at all. I do hope someone out there can help me to solve this as it is getting VERY annoying now

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      Turn off the broadband within the settings and reboot box.

      Then turn it back on and setup the connection manually.

      see if that helps.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #3
      Oldbluser's Avatar
      Oldbluser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      I spent 90 mins with Sky tech early yesterday evening with the same problem and it still isn't resolved, not looking forward to yet even more time later this afternoon. Tried all the turning this off then switch it all back on again nothing worked re set the software to what it was before the update and it still doesn't work
      He did say they have had a huge problem with this as there were thousands this has happened to but couldn't give me any idea as to how long it might be before it is sorted.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      Many non-Sky users find that changing the multiplexing from VC-MUX to LLC helps with this, if you have access to the setting on your router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,462
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      Are you able to connect using ethernet or home plugs to check whether the problem is limited to wi-fi?

    7. #6
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      After doing the update back to the previous software version R009 I would go into the customise option in the menu and make sure enable on demand downloads is switched on. If it is not switch it on and see if that helps.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    8. #7
      Dr Mike Oxgreen's Avatar
      Dr Mike Oxgreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin (up to 150Mbps)
      Router: Virgin SuperHub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Location
      Woking
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      I've had a Sky+ HD box for only a couple of months, having finally got rid of my antique original Sky+ box. On demand worked for a while, but for the last few weeks it has been saying:

      "Connection to Broadband router: OK"
      "Connection to On Demand: FAIL".

      My Sky+ box is connected via ethernet cable to a little four-way switch behind my TV, which is then connected by ethernet cable to my Virgin SuperHub. I also have an AppleTV connected to the same switch behind the TV, and this works fully. I have also tried bypassing the switch and plugging the Sky+ directly into the router - no joy. So the switch is not the culprit.

      The Sky+ box has sucessfully obtained an IP address from the router. I have also tried assigning it a manual IP address, but this makes no difference. Also tried doing a reset of the network settings (red button) lots and lots of times.

      "Enable on demand downloads" is ON, and I have tried switching it off, saving, and switching back on again (and saving again). This didn't work.

      I have tried switching things on and off in every conceivable way. I have tried doing a Planner Rebuild. Nothing works.

      Does anyone have any suggestions of other things I can try? Thanks!

    9. #8
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      The answer is in your own question....

      "Connection to Broadband router: OK"
      "Connection to On Demand: FAIL".

      The problem is not the STB connecting to the router that's fine its the router not allowing the connection to the internet.

      You must change Multiplexing Method to "LLC-BASED in the routers settings.

      Regards
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    10. #9
      Dr Mike Oxgreen's Avatar
      Dr Mike Oxgreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin (up to 150Mbps)
      Router: Virgin SuperHub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Location
      Woking
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      Quote Originally Posted by The Realist View Post
      The problem is not the STB connecting to the router that's fine its the router not allowing the connection to the internet.

      You must change Multiplexing Method to "LLC-BASED in the routers settings.
      Thanks for replying.

      I've never seen that setting in my router, and I've explored pretty much everywhere. Is this an ADSL-specific setting? If so, it's not relevant to my Virgin cable broadband.

      Also, remember that On Demand was working fine when I got the box, and no router settings have changed since - so why would it stop working?

    11. #10
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      What type of adaptor are you using or is it a wifi STB.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION