Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Sky on demand not working since the update

    This is a discussion on Sky on demand not working since the update within the Sky On Demand forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Originally Posted by The Realist What type of adaptor are you using or is it a wifi STB . My ...

    1. #11
      Dr Mike Oxgreen's Avatar
      Dr Mike Oxgreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin (up to 150Mbps)
      Router: Virgin SuperHub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Location
      Woking
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      Quote Originally Posted by The Realist View Post
      What type of adaptor are you using or is it a wifi STB.
      My Sky+ HD box is connected by ethernet cable to a switch, and from there by ethernet cable to the Virgin Super Hub. I also have an AppleTV plugged into the same switch, and that works fully.

      As far as possible, I avoid using wifi - I prefer the robustness of wired ethernet.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      Wired connections are always the best options.

      How many boxes (Sky) do you have with On Demand.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #13
      Dr Mike Oxgreen's Avatar
      Dr Mike Oxgreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin (up to 150Mbps)
      Router: Virgin SuperHub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Location
      Woking
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      Quote Originally Posted by The Realist View Post
      Wired connections are always the best options.

      How many boxes (Sky) do you have with On Demand.
      Just the one Sky+ HD box in the house, no other Sky boxes.

      Edited to add: When I plug the Sky+ HD box into the switch, the corresponding amber light on the switch comes on. So I have a green light (incoming at 1Gbps) and two amber lights: one for the AppleTV and one for the Sky+ HD (I assume they both work at 100Mbps).

    5. #14
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,462
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      If you have a telephone line connected to your Sky+ HD box, disconnect it then using the interactive button on you remote control navigate to Sky Customer Services and check if you are able to view your latest bill. If you can then it proves that your Sky box can connect to the internet using your Virgin router.

    6. #15
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      What I would do is disconnect the wired side and test the wifi as a means of elimination.

      If you get the same error via wifi and wired then it has to be a router issue.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #16
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      I actually had an identical issue with a customer today where connection to router was ok but connection to on demand had failed, I tried everything I could think of but it would not work.

      I had checked the software and although on R009 I decided to trigger a download just on the chance it may help. The software remained on R009 but the on demand then started to work.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    8. #17
      Dr Mike Oxgreen's Avatar
      Dr Mike Oxgreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin (up to 150Mbps)
      Router: Virgin SuperHub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Location
      Woking
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      Well, I've just got home and checked the router settings, and *something* had turned up the aggression of the firewall settings - maybe Virgin have pushed a configuration change without telling anyone?

      Disabling the firewall instantly changed the "FAIL" to "OK"!

      Not sure I want to leave it completely disabled, but I'll experiment with some less aggressive settings.

      Thanks for all your help!

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky on demand not working since the update

      Disabling the firewall instantly changed the "FAIL" to "OK"!
      There are ports you can open to allow the Sky box to connect through the firewall. Can't remember what they are at the moment, but I am sure someone will.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION