Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    Sky`s wireless connector problem

    This is a discussion on Sky`s wireless connector problem within the Sky On Demand forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have a problem connecting my new Sky Wireless connector to my BT Infinity Hub The , the unit had ...

    1. #1
      DRUMGOR's Avatar
      DRUMGOR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: BT HUB 3
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky`s wireless connector problem

      I have a problem connecting my new Sky Wireless connector to my BT Infinity Hub

      The , the unit had only 1 light showing, it found my BT Hub but after many failed attempts with the following error message , Problem Connecting to Network.

      I spoke to a Sky tech support supervisor Mary who was very helpful but with many more attempts to connect this also failed.

      Note, i have a cheap wireless bridge on another Sky Box and it works perfectly.

      Anyone can Help please.

      Douglas


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,458
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky`s wireless connector problem

      Usual problem is difficulty entering password using Sky remote. As a temporary measure simplify the password that your router is expecting and try again. Remember that the password is case sensitive and that the remote produces capitals before lower case.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky`s wireless connector problem

      There was a method posted very recently to simplify the process of connecting to a router which requires complicated passwords, as most of the BT Hubs do. Unplug the wireless adapter from the Sky box and plug it into your PC in place of the router ethernet connection. Open a browser and type http://skywirelessconnector in the address bar and hit enter. That should take you into the setup for the connector. Put in addresses to suit your router.

      I think I have got that correct, but I will have another look for the original post and edit if necessary.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      cas21 (24-04-13)

    6. #4
      cas21's Avatar
      cas21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Netgear DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky`s wireless connector problem

      A HUGE thankyou for this post. I have had endless problems setting up Sky wireless connector for On Demand. Initially, I had problems entering the WEP password for my wireless network using the remote, and then all future attempts gave error: Network failed, and the Sky box couldn't find any networks. After 2 hours on a support call, following instructions to perform all sorts of resets, restarts, etc to no avail, I was informed I would have to contact my ISP. I did not accept the fault lay with my wireless network (which was working perfectly well with 3 devices), and eventually I was sent new connector. Same problem- no networks found. I spent 2 days trawling the net to find lots of other users with the same problem but no solution. I did change my wireless security to WPA- PSK just to shorten the length of the password to 8 characters, but had no way of entering the password as the TV didn't display the network. Then finally, the magic code to get into the connector. I connected the Sky connector to my router using the ethernet cable, typed the URL as given above, logged in using admin, sky and was then able to enter my wireless network password. When I attached the connector to my Sky box after a short delay, the wireless light lit up and the On Demand menu was available. Sky should be adding this to their trouble shooting section!

    7. #5
      plummit's Avatar
      plummit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canterbury
      Broadband ISP: Plus.net
      Router: Netgear DG834g v5
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2013
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky`s wireless connector problem

      I had a good On Demand connection with a Netgear wireless connector supplied by Sky. This has now failed. They sent a replacement under warrenty This one SC201 made by Sky. Now the connector will not accept my password and thus no connection. I have tried all the tricks I can to get it to connect. Reboots rebuilds restarts etc. etc. Still getting the double fail. When I started I had both the white lights showing now I have only the power light. The STB tells me it can find my network but the password will not stick.The STB connects fine if I use an incredibly long Ethernet cable and hard connect to router. The settings on the router are exactly the same as with the old wireless connector. WEP64, open system Netgear DG834g v5 all other wireless connections perfect just this Sky Connector. Sky are blaming my IP, my router, me (ie putting password in wrong) but giving no solutions. Has anybody else had this problem when going from the Old connector to this new one.

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky`s wireless connector problem

      Did you try try suggestion in post #3?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #7
      plummit's Avatar
      plummit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canterbury
      Broadband ISP: Plus.net
      Router: Netgear DG834g v5
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2013
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky`s wireless connector problem

      Yes. Got in and tried to configure but the box will not accept the password. Whether it be by the letters or the number translation.

    10. #8
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,458
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky`s wireless connector problem

      Can you connect other wi-fi devices to your SR101 using the same password? I'm not sure whether the Sky Wireless connector supports WEP. Have you tried WPA2?

    11. #9
      plummit's Avatar
      plummit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canterbury
      Broadband ISP: Plus.net
      Router: Netgear DG834g v5
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2013
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky`s wireless connector problem

      All my devices connect perfectly with the router using WEP and the previous wireless connector also had no problems. Since the SR101 cannot log in to the router using wifi its academic as to whether another wifi device can contact it. The mainframe can, via a hard router connection but it hasn't helped as the password will not stick. Have they changed something so that the connectors no longer support WEP. I haven't tried WPA2 mainly because I don't wish to upset my other devices which are quite happy where they are. If I can get a definite "they have changed the encryption standard" I will know I need to find another way to connect rather than straight wifi. There is absolutely nothing in the instructions or on the Sky website or even the support blogs about security settings. Helpful lot.

    12. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky`s wireless connector problem

      There is a good chance it is the encryption that is causing the problem. I believe the new connector is wireless N standard and this does not support WEP. You best bet would be to disable the encryption on the Hub completely and see if you can connect to it. If you can, then that is the problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      plummit (10-08-13)

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION