Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6
    Like Tree3Likes
    • 3 Post By Scubbie

    How to get On Demand

    This is a discussion on How to get On Demand within the Sky On Demand forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; How to get On Demand Sky opened up their Anytime+ service for anyone with an Internet connection in the UK ...

    1. #1
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,066
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,206 Times in 2,075 Posts

      Post How to get On Demand

      How to get On Demand


      Sky opened up their Anytime+ service for anyone with an Internet connection in the UK and Ireland and then renamed it to 'On Demand'. Many more people will now want to make use of this free service. There are a few things to do first and a few items that you will need in order to get access to this free service.

      Before we go any further, remember that this service will download content through your Internet connection and this will eat into any monthly allowance you may have and will affect the speed that any computers, tablets or anything else, can access the Internet at whilst you are downloading anything for your Sky+ HD STB.

      Currently there is no option to schedule the downloads at particular times, so if you want to make use of any unlimited access after midnight, for example, you will have to be awake at that time to start the download.

      What do you need?

      • A Sky+ HD STB with a valid Sky subscription (there is one model which cannot and will never receive On Demand content: Thomson – check the back of the STB to see which you have if you are unsure or press <Services> 0 3 on your remote control. I will say the make beside the 'Manufacturer')
      • An Internet connection with a router
      • A method to connect the Sky+ HD STB to the router
      • Ensure that UPnP is enabled on your router


      One of the first things that you can do is to visit the Sky website and log in to your account. Visit your ‘My Sky’ page and select the box/button to add the On Demand service. A signal will be sent over the Satellites to your STB to enable the service. This may take anything from a few minutes to a couple of days. You can also call Sky to get this service enabled if you like.

      Whilst you are waiting for this to be enabled, it is now alright to connect your Sky+ HD STB to your router.

      The simplest method would be to use an Ethernet cable to connect the two together. Plug one end into the port marked ‘Ethernet’, in green, on the back of the Sky+ HD STB and the other to a port on your router.

      The Sky+ HD STB will display a message that is has detected a network connection.

      Once the signal has been received to enable On Demand you should be able to navigate to ‘On Demand’ on you STB. If all is well you will see a different appearance to how it used to be. Now you will have some pictures and the ‘On Demand’ content has been renamed ‘Showcase’. You should now be able to see the thumbnails of the video content, not just a list.

      Enjoy!

      ...but what else can happen or may be required?

      Firstly let’s look at connecting the Sky+ HD STB to your router. I mentioned the simplest method, but this isn’t suitable for everyone. The Sky+ HD STB does not have WiFi built in, but there are a variety of other options available.

      • Sky can provide a Media WiFi Bridge for around 21.95
      • There are various universal Media WiFi Bridges available for around 20. The Netgear WNCE2001 is one device which costs around 30-35. Another is the Vonets VAP11G WIFI Bridge which currently costs around 21 when you include a PSU and USB extension cable
      • HomePlugs or PowerLine Adaptors can be used
      • WiFi Extender


      If your TV, Blu-Ray, Home Theatre or any other device beside you TV requires a connection, you may wish to consider connecting one of the above to a Network Switch as well. This could provide multiple devices via the same link to your router.

      Rather than go into much more detail here please feel free to read the document linked below on extending your home network:

      Extending your Home Network

      What if it doesn’t all work?

      First could you check the network connection? To do this, using your remote control, press <Services> <Right> <Down> 6 to highlight the ‘Network’ settings. Ideally this should show the following:

      • Local Connection – OK
      • Service Connection – OK
      • IP Address – 192.168.0.2 (these will vary according to your network)
      • DHCP – ON


      If the Local Connection is down, check the network connection between your Sky+ HD STB and the router. One easy way to do this is to use a Laptop and plug the same cable that you plugged into the Sky+ HD STB. Ideally it should be able to connect to your router & from there the Internet.

      If the Service Connection is down, but everything is fine, then there could one of three things wrong:

      • Your connection is too busy for the Sky+ HD STB to connect to the Sky Servers
      • The signal to enable the service on your STB hasn’t been received yet
      • Your router needs to have UPnP enabled


      If you are unable to get an IP Address or the DHCP is OFF, double check the settings on any WiFi device that connects between your STB and the router. If you have customised your settings (see below) then DHCP will show as ‘Off’.

      Some people have found it useful to power-cycle the Sky+ STB fully before it managed to connect to the Sky servers. To do this completely, you first need to switch off the Sky+ HD STB by using the remote control. The green power LED will now turn orange.

      Next press and hold the on/off button on top of the Sky+ HD STB until the LED goes red. The STB will go completely silent now as the internal hard drive and fan stops working.

      Give the STB about 15 seconds, then press the <Sky> button on your remote control. The Sky+ HD STB will take a few minutes to restart, but there is no harm in pressing the <Sky> button several times to ensure that it is starting up again.

      Give it a few more minutes to allow the STB to contact the router and to contact the Sky servers.

      Customising your settings

      You can customise the network settings for your own LAN is you wish. To do this navigate to the ‘Network’ settings page as described above and press the Green button on your remote control. You will now need to put in the following information using your remote control:

      • IP Address
      • Subnet
      • Gateway Router
      • DNS


      The actual details will vary between different routers; more so now as Sky have opened it up to all UK ISPs. In the interests of keeping this tutorial simple, I will refer to the default settings for the Sky routers. You will need to check your router to see what settings are available to be used. If you are unsure, use the ‘ipconfig’ command (available in M$ Windows) to help you to see what your computer has assigned.

      As an example though, someone could use the following settings on a Sky router left at its default settings:

      • IP Address – 192.168.0.230
      • Subnet – 255.255.255.0
      • Gateway Router – 192.168.0.1
      • DNS – 8.8.8.8


      The IP Address needs to be unique to each device connected on your home network. I’ve chosen to end it with the number 230 as it won’t conflict with other guides available on this forum, but any number from 2 to 254 would be fine with a Sky router.

      The ‘Subnet’ is normally always 255.255.255.0 on home networks. There isn’t much point for most people to change this.

      The ‘Gateway Router’ is the IP Address of your router. Sky uses the default setting of 192.168.0.1 on all their routers. Other ISPs can use this same figure, but many use other numbers.

      The ‘DNS’ can be set to your ISP’s DNS servers or a public DNS server. In the example above I have selected Google’s Public DNS Server, but others are available. Please see the link below for a list of many DNS Servers for the UK:

      ::. Kitz - DNS and mail servers .::

      When you have done this, press the <Green> button on your remote to save the settings. DHCP will now show as ‘OFF’. The ‘Service Connection’ may initially show as ‘Fail’, if this happens, come out of the menu and navigate back to it to check.

      Thanks to Tom (Isitme) in helping to check over this document.

      Also now available here: Sky User - How to get Sky Anytime+

      Edit: If you navigate to www.sky.com/ondemand you should get an option to enable On Demand on your account. The link also takes you to Sky's trouble shooting guides for On Demand.

      It is worth mentioning that should you have more than one Sky+ HD STB, you can have On Demand enabled on each of them. If you have it only added on one STB, then please call Sky and ask them to enable on each one.

      Further Edit: Some non-Sky broadband connections are reporting 'Fail' for the Service connection despite everything else being good. It has been found that in some cases it is necessary to switch the router from VC-based to LLC-based in the case of some ADSL connections.

      This document has been taken from the Anytime+ section and revised for the new name 'On Demand' and to reflect the current prices at this time. There are some useful comments in the original thread: How to get Anytime+

      Edit: You may also wish to read Sky's guide on setting up your STB for On Demand content. It also gives guideance for setting up their WiFi adaptors:

      http://help.sky.com/tv/using-on-demand/set-up-on-demand
      Last edited by Scubbie; 12-08-13 at 12:31 AM.
      NewsreadeR, Isitme and seawright like this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      doozer's Avatar
      doozer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to get On Demand

      Hi Scubbie,
      thanks for the helpful post.
      I had "Service Connection"-"Failed".
      Couple of things threw me, "need to set Upnp". So I "googled" that for my 2504 router.
      "Advanced" settings and "Upnp" is hiding in the ribbon at the top, produced a new screen, "saved" on exit.
      Oh my STB by the way is the Amstrad DRX890.
      Back to the "Network" settings on the STB after another"reset" and still showing "failed", "Service Connection". Clicked on the "Network", "Manual" setup and found it already "Filled in" so "saved" that and carried out another "reset" on that page and "On Demand" sprung into life?? So much content, if I hear "nothing to watch on the TV" ever again I might just give up the ghost!
      Despite following "posts" could not find a manual for my box and the elusive acquire "Anytime+ AKA On Demand" in "My Account",
      not there!

      - - - Updated - - -

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,066
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,206 Times in 2,075 Posts

      Re: How to get On Demand

      Hello doozer,

      The latest firmware versions now fill in the Network detail if you are connecting to the router, which is possibly why all the information was there for you.

      I am glad that everything is now working for you. As for the volume of content, I know it is a burden but I guess someone out there will try to watch it all . However I am sure that someone will say "seen that" or "don't like ******", thus limiting their choice.

      There are PDF versions of the manual available on the Sky website. There is also an interactive guide. I suspect that Sky needs to update these as the picks are of the old guide. There are also other changes coming, so they will need updating again:

      Sky+HD Guide

      Click the link "Further Information" and you will see a list of User Manuals in the PDF format for you to download.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      stuartwwc's Avatar
      stuartwwc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01380
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to get On Demand

      Hi, I am trying to connect to on demand without having to buy the wireless bridge. i have a smart LG tv which I bought a wifi dongle for. I thought that I would be able to either use this in the sky box USB (but found out it doesnt power the dongle) or by a ethernet cable which also doesnt work. Is there any other way or software upgrade that I need to do? This is my 1st post so im not sure if i should have posted here? If not please move. ps I also have an Xbox if I needed to use another external source. Thanks

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,066
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,206 Times in 2,075 Posts

      Re: How to get On Demand

      Basically what you are looking to do is to share the WiFi connection on the LG TV for another device, which happens to be the Sky+ HD STB in this case. I doubt if this is supported by your TV.

      The Xbox may support this feature, hopefully someone else can confirm this.

      With three devices all vying for access to the Internet together, why not reconsider things and invest in a pair of HomePlugs? Some HomePlugs have multiple Ethernet sockets, whilst most do not. If you get a pair with just a single Ethernet port, simply purchase a Network Switch at the same time.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: How to get On Demand

      or by a ethernet cable which also doesnt work.
      An ethernet cable from the STB to the router should work. What is happening when you try to connect?

      You cannot access the network using USB with the Sky box, the USB ports are not operative and even if they were it is unlikely the box would have the necessary driver installed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION