Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13
    Like Tree1Likes

    Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

    This is a discussion on Cannot get my On Demand working. Help? within the Sky On Demand forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Right, long story short, my On Demand is not working. I cannot see the catchup options. My setup is as ...

    1. #1
      onlyslightlymad's Avatar
      onlyslightlymad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      Right, long story short, my On Demand is not working. I cannot see the catchup options.

      My setup is as follows.

      Draytek Vigor 120 ADSL2+ modem
      D Link DIR-320 Router
      Sky+ HD Amstrad DRX890, fully up to date
      Sky wireless connector

      No matter what I do, I continue to get Service connection - Fail

      The thing that annoys me the most is that I am an IT engineer by trade, and network building is the bread and butter of my job!

      My LAN is fully tried and tested and has been working solidly now for over 2 years with no problems with a myriad of items connected, both wired and wireless, and after speaking to Sky I was informed that as long as i have a working broadband connection, my on demand will work.

      I initially set up the wirelss connector and set up the sky box with a static IP address as is required on my LAN, with all the necessary subnet mask, gateway address and DNS address details. It gives me a working local connection, which I can see from my PC on the LAN, but will not let me get a service connection, consequently no on demand.

      I tried running a long ethernet cable from my router to the sky box which gave me the same problem.

      I borrowed from work a combined ADSL modem/router, connected that to my ISP and plugged in the sky box via the wired connection and it worked instantly, proving my sky box is fully servicable.

      Next I reset my modem and reset my own router, reconnected it with a basic configuration with no port forwarding or other restrictions as I run a web server and an FTP server from my LAN, accessible from the WAN and thought maybe something in the setup was interfering. Still no joy, service connection fail.

      Obviously some setup either in my modem or router is stopping the on demand service from connecting, but I am running out of ideas now. Anyone got any idea what the problem might be?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,711
      Thanks
      196
      Thanked 108 Times in 101 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      Does the modem or router need Multiplex Method set to LLC-BASED?

      Otherwise there's some good tips here:
      How to get Anytime+
      and
      Best fix for SKY Anytime + connection "Fail"

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to speedyrite For This Useful Post:

      onlyslightlymad (14-10-12)

    5. #3
      onlyslightlymad's Avatar
      onlyslightlymad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      Thankyou for that! Changing the mux method worked a treat. I didn't even consider that, I just went with my ISP's recomendation on the connection settings. Makes sense though, if I remember right, LLC is better for multiple protocols than VC?

    6. #4
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,711
      Thanks
      196
      Thanked 108 Times in 101 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      Quote Originally Posted by onlyslightlymad View Post
      Thankyou for that! Changing the mux method worked a treat. I didn't even consider that, I just went with my ISP's recomendation on the connection settings.
      So that's all good then!

      Quote Originally Posted by onlyslightlymad View Post
      Makes sense though, if I remember right, LLC is better for multiple protocols than VC?
      Apparently "LLC encapsulation is more flexible because it can carry multiple protocols per ATM circuit, VC multiplexing uses a separate ATM virtual circuit for each protocol so is more efficient as it uses less overheads."

      Seems that this change is needed on some ISPs otherwise On Demand won't work. Not sure though if all routers allow the setting to be changed easily or even at all. And presumably some ISPs may only support VC and not LLC.

      Anyway happy to hear that it worked for you.

    7. #5
      onlyslightlymad's Avatar
      onlyslightlymad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      ......
      Seems that this change is needed on some ISPs otherwise On Demand won't work. Not sure though if all routers allow the setting to be changed easily or even at all. And presumably some ISPs may only support VC and not LLC......
      Perhaps Sky themselves need to be made aware of this as their online chat "technicians" and phone customer service people are adamant that if you have a working broadband setup, you can watch On Demand!

      Still, the help is here, even if Sky themselves can't help!

    8. #6
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      361
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts

      Re: Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      the sky techs are not trained on supporting non sky equipment ie (routers) and as this setting and most other settings are built in on sky router , they dont need to train them on this , although there are some techs who will have outside experinece

    9. #7
      onlyslightlymad's Avatar
      onlyslightlymad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      Quote Originally Posted by tenar View Post
      the sky techs are not trained on supporting non sky equipment ie (routers) and as this setting and most other settings are built in on sky router , they dont need to train them on this , although there are some techs who will have outside experinece
      This may be true, but everything I have seen on the Sky website says "all you have to do is connect your router to your sky+ HD box". There is nothing anywhere about changes may be required within your broadband network to allow On Demand to work.

      I wonder how many people have tried to get On Demand working on non Sky broadband and have just given up. After my last conversation with the phone support people in India they were going to send around a tech because my sky box is faulty according to them and he would fix it or replace it and it would then work, well, I somehow doubt it!

    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      22,353
      Thanks
      645
      Thanked 2,001 Times in 1,881 Posts

      Re: Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      Following the comments about VC & LLC connections, I've updated the guide that is linked above.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #9
      SabrinaO's Avatar
      SabrinaO is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talking Re: Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      Thank you so much spent hours on the phone with sky and bt and your way worked.






      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Does the modem or router need Multiplex Method set to LLC-BASED?

      Otherwise there's some good tips here:
      How to get Anytime+
      and
      Best fix for SKY Anytime + connection "Fail"

    12. #10
      SabrinaO's Avatar
      SabrinaO is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot get my On Demand working. Help?

      Thank you speedy rite,I've spent hours on the phone with Sky and bt, didn't want to bin the wirless box.Found your comments and changed adsl settings and it worked.
      I've got three happy children with sky demand.
      NewsreadeR likes this.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO