Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 78
    Like Tree10Likes

    Sky's New Wireless Connector

    This is a discussion on Sky's New Wireless Connector within the Sky On Demand forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Sky's new Wireless Connector gives you the freedom to connect to On Demand wirelessly at the great new price of ...

    1. #1
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Sky's New Wireless Connector




      Sky's new Wireless Connector gives you the freedom to connect to On Demand wirelessly at the great new price of 21.95 - perfect if your Sky+ box and broadband router are in different rooms.

      Features


      • Connects your broadband router and your Sky+ box wirelessly
      • Unlocks a world of entertainment on demand



      Specifications of the unit (courtesy of the official website)



      Your Wireless Connector unlocks all the features of On Demand - all you need is Sky TV, a compatible black Sky+ box and a fast enough broadband connection.

      Watch some of the week's best TV from Sky, BBC iPlayer, ITV Player and Demand 5 on brand new Catch Up TV - with 4oD coming in 2013. Plus, full series box sets, kids' shows and more (including hundreds of movies if you have Sky Movies 1 & 2) ready to watch when you are, right on your TV.



      You can buy the new Wireless Connector directly from Sky's official website.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky's New Wireless Connector-pod1.jpg  
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 31-10-12 at 12:18 AM. Reason: Price amended.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      The 'buy' link does not seem to be working, its coming up with - http://tidd.ly/44237c40 which is not recognised?

      Now there's a thing, when I click the link I posted, it works.

      Now both links work

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Mike63uk's Avatar
      Mike63uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Is this 802.11n?

    5. #4
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Quote Originally Posted by Mike63uk View Post
      Is this 802.11n?
      This is the original version which is 802.11g I believe. Once they have sold out the new version is 802.11n and the same price so it might be worth waiting a little longer to make a purchase.

    6. #5
      Mike63uk's Avatar
      Mike63uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Quote Originally Posted by stereohaven View Post
      This is the original version which is 802.11g I believe. Once they have sold out the new version is 802.11n and the same price so it might be worth waiting a little longer to make a purchase.
      But the picture above shows the new connector, different to the one shown on the Sky help video

    7. #6
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,462
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      With a suitable cable can the RF2 output (magic eye supply) be used to power the Anytime+ wireless adaptor?

      I'm sure I saw a post somewhere that this was used to power a small fm transmitter to enable Sky radio stations to be listened to on a normal radio.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The 'buy' link does not seem to be working, its coming up with - http://tidd.ly/44237c40 which is not recognised?

      Now there's a thing, when I click the link I posted, it works.

      Now both links work
      We have already reported the problem with the links. We use affiliate links, as we are not supposed to link directly to a normal Sky URL (although some do filter through by people posting them etc) they are built up for us using a link generator. Obviously they are not resolving properly somewhere along the line so will be fixed asap we have been told.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      With a suitable cable can the RF2 output (magic eye supply) be used to power the Anytime+ wireless adaptor?
      Absolutely no idea, we have asked for one for review for the forum and it's members, so is something we can try and find the answer to, at some point, hopefully.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      With a suitable cable can the RF2 output (magic eye supply) be used to power the Anytime+ wireless adaptor?

      I'm sure I saw a post somewhere that this was used to power a small fm transmitter to enable Sky radio stations to be listened to on a normal radio.
      I don't think so, according to the spec it requires a 12v connection. I think the maximum output from the RF2 is 9v, although I could be wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Wireless Connector

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I don't think so, according to the spec it requires a 12v connection. I think the maximum output from the RF2 is 9v, although I could be wrong.
      Saves us a job then.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION