Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Cat5 or WiFi ?

    This is a discussion on Cat5 or WiFi ? within the Sky Catch Up TV forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I have a problem (Router in one room SKY TV in another room) so what is the best way to ...

    1. #1
      Zook's Avatar
      Zook is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 (Black One)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cat5 or WiFi ?

      I have a problem (Router in one room SKY TV in another room) so what is the best way to go ? buy the wireless box from SKY or drill a 16mm hole in the wall for the cat5 cable (price of both is about the same ?, any advice very much appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      515
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Cat5 or WiFi ?

      When possible Ethernet should always be used in preference to WiFi as it gives a much more stable connection with no interference.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Annie UK For This Useful Post:

      Zook (08-05-13)

    5. #3
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Cat5 or WiFi ?

      And if you are going to drill holes I would pay a little extra and buy some Cat6 cables to future proof things a little.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to stereohaven For This Useful Post:

      Zook (08-05-13)

    7. #4
      Zook's Avatar
      Zook is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 (Black One)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cat5 or WiFi ?

      Thank you Annie UK & stereohaven, I will get my drill out

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION