Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Migrating To Sky Using Llu Mac

    This is a discussion on Migrating To Sky Using Llu Mac within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; heys, could some1 go through the procedure? I know that: I need a llu mac from my isp- tiscali. Give ...

    1. #1
      JEPES's Avatar
      JEPES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Migrating To Sky Using Llu Mac

      heys, could some1 go through the procedure?

      I know that:
      I need a llu mac from my isp- tiscali.
      Give to sky over phone

      Then something happens between here....

      and VOILA Sky broadband

      anyone know how much downtime i will have if i do migrate- and what happens if i'm with tiscali talk as well and i wana move to sky talk?
      Will i be able to make calls during the period of switching phones as well?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Migrating To Sky Using Llu Mac

      Get LLU MAC from Tiscali.

      Give MAC to Sky when ordering.

      Wait for Sky router to arrive & wait for migration (they'll send you a letter with the expected date on it)....

      Then when they've hooked you up to Sky BB at the exchange, you set up your new Sky router, & there you go. Once you've migrated, cancel your old service.

      By migrating, rather than going through the whole "cease & re-provide" thing, you shouldn't have much downtime at all (as in, maybe only half an hour or so).


      Tiscali Talk... do you still pay BT for line rental, or do Tiscali provide the line too?

    4. #3
      JEPES's Avatar
      JEPES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrating To Sky Using Llu Mac

      urmm, i still pay BT for line rental

      and wen u said cancel my old service-what does tht mean?

      call them up?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Migrating To Sky Using Llu Mac

      Once you are on Sky - cancel your DD with Tiscali and ring them to tell them you are no longer a customer, and make sure they put that fact on your account, in case they try and charge you for another month etc etc

      Good luck




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      JEPES's Avatar
      JEPES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrating To Sky Using Llu Mac

      ok thanks a lot. We are absolutely sure i can use an llu mac code right?
      The first time i rang up sky they said i can. The second time, a guy said i will have 10 days of downtime if i migrate :S (i don't think he knows what a LLU mac is).

      1-3 hours downtime is ok, 10 days is a no-no

    7. #6
      JEPES's Avatar
      JEPES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrating To Sky Using Llu Mac

      anyone have an answer to my tiscali talk -> sky talk question?

      "what happens if i'm with tiscali talk as well and i wana move to sky talk?"

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION